My Current Shrines

Thought I’d post updated shrine pics, since I’ve spent the past two months rearranging them and rearranging them some more. But I think we’re finally happy now, for the moment.Just two pictures with long descriptions about what’s there. Everything on them holds meaning. Nothing is there for no reason.

Also, I will get around to cross-posting my paganism meme entries here too, just so they’re here. They were up on the old site and I’d like them here too.

Img_0966

This is my Isian Shrine. The main open naos (shrine) at the back has … Satet, Nit, Aset, Hethert and Nebthet on the very top in front of a large winged and horned solar disc I made today. There’s also a white feather there for Ma’at.

On top of the two red boxes, we have a cheetah for Mafdet, and two cats for Bast. Behind them are seven stars for the West African goddess Yemaya. The left red box contains an unnamed male Netjeri of Bast-Mut. In the middle is Aset suckling Heru-sa-Aset. In the other red box is Faithful, from the Alanna series by Tamora Pierce.

Left side of the altar contains a grey stallion represeting Sobek-Castor, an image of Aset from Age of Mythology, some pennies and coins, a cauldron, and a bowl.

Right side of the altar contains a devotional image of Mary and some rosary beads, a papyus image of Aset, a brown horse representing Heru-sa-Aset-Pollux, two statues of Kwan Yin, two small offering bowls, a goblet for wine/juice, and a bell. Also an incense burner.

The middle section has more candles, an offering plate, a clay pentacle on top of that, and in front of that, my ritual knife and a clay wand (that I inadvertently made left-handed).

Img_0967

This is my devotional shrine, and contains images of pretty much every God I’m currently working with.

The left side is for ‘masculine’ energies and contains images and statues of Yinepu, Djehuty, Ganesha, Warrior!Sobek, and Apollo. There are a few little tokens and such there too, like dice for Djehuty.

The middle section is for other-gendered energies. This covers agendered, bigendered, two-spirit, genderqueer, androgynous, and all-gendered deities. Currently, there are icons and statues here of Creator God!Sobek, IDEK!Heru-sa-Aset, Amun, Djehuty, Ma’at, and the Mousai Titanides. Behind the white candle is a silver ankh and representations of the four elements.

The right side of the altar is for ‘feminine’ energies. There are currently images and statues here of Protective Mother!Sobek, winged Aset, Aset suckling Heru, Nekhbet, Wadjet, and Kwan Yin.

 

2 comments on “My Current Shrines

  1. Avy says:

    I think the Pony is my favorite part. =PI do quite like the Isian shrine! The devotional one is cool too. I’m curious about the three different genderings you have of Sobek, would you be willing to share on that front?

  2. Alex Vanguard says:

    @Avy, yeah, the pony is definitely the cutest part. 😛 As to Sobek’s genders, sure, I’ll do my best to explain it. Basically, I have a concept in my head of all Creator deities being allgendered/agendered/bigendered/genderless/etc as They represent the totality of Creation. I experience Sobek as a Creator God, so that is His genderless side. It’s also a link back to Amun, who is also androgynous/allgendered. Masculine!Sobek represents His role in protecting the Nisut and being His strength, as far as I’ve been able to tell. It’s His warrior side. This is the Rager. Feminine!Sobek I discovered from looking into how salt-water crocodiles tend to their young. They build nests for them and tend to them until they are born, making sure the temperature is correct. They will also carry them in their mouths down to the water. It has never struck me as distinctly female, but it is a different sort of protective than His masculine side. It’s His protective nature towards His children, how He cares for them. It’s ‘motherly’.All three make up Sobek, but they are like distinct ‘aspects’? of Him? Different roles, I think. The genders attached to them aren’t very strong, but they are present enough to sense the difference. I generally use masculine pronouns for Him, as that is His preference, but He still has all these other genders about Him.It’s kind of how I generally experience Djehuty as an androgynous masculine deity. I would never use any other pronouns than masculine ones for Him, but He has no inherent gender for me, male or otherwise, and I think this is to do with His Creator aspect coming through a lot stronger than maybe it does for others.Thanks for comment. I might do another post on this at a later date and explain it in much greater detail, just because I don’t think most people see Gods this way, and it could do with some explaining.

Leave a Reply

