Sabbats and Calendars

Because obviously yesterday was the best day ever to finally get me some Wheel of the Year inspiration happening. I’ve at least pinned down which Gods I might want to mostly focus on for each, but I haven’t got any overarching narrative structure yet. IDK if I’ll get that far, and this isn’t even a particularly queer version either. I think there’s more work to do on a deliberately queer Wheel that I’m not quite at yet, because I think that one will need and overarching narrative that I’m still piecing together, so that’s for later. But having a Wheel I can personally work with does help in getting to that point. It’s like, I need to know the rules before I break them, so I want to understand what each Sabbat is about in order to help figure out how to queer it properly in a manner that makes sense.

This is part of me figuring out how to structure my path, too. Knowing what my yearly calendar will be like, I can go down to a seasonal and then a monthly level, and then figure out what to do each day. It’s harder to build from the day to the year, so I do it the other way around. Knowing who I want to honour on each of the Sabbats makes it easier to pin down the rest of my yearly festival calendar.

My Wheel (so far):

  1. Yule/Winter Solstice: Sobek and Harpocrates, as the new-born Sun, and Hestia.
  2. Imbolc: Queen of Heaven, Star of the Sea. (Isis, Hekate, Yemaya, Mary, and maybe Kwan Yin too) (I may alternate with these, but that’s the general theme, as a festival of lights honouring any/all of these Goddesses, for lack of a better word to use.) I still see this as a time of initiation, too, to begin things and do rededications and whatnot.
  3. Ostara/Spring Equinox: Wesir-Ra, the light/dark death/life duality, and Hestia.
  4. Beltaine: The Horned Goddess, self-love and acceptance (all the genders!), pleasure, and joy. Kind of taking it beyond the ‘heteronormative fertility’ aspect and making it more personal and inclusive. The love and joy and acceptance of all genders and all kinds of bodies and the pleasure we take in them and from them. Not necessarily sexual, but that is an aspect of it. That’s how I’m beginning to make Beltaine work for me.
  5. Litha/Summer Solstice: Sobek and Heru-sa-Aset, as the Sun at its Peak, Aset, and Hestia.
  6. Lammas: Wesir God of the Grains, and Aset of the Green Earth, the harvest. Taking stock of what you’ve achieved and beginning to prepare for winter.
  7. Mabon/Autumn Equinox: Wesir-Ra, the light/dark death/life duality, and Hestia.
  8. Samhain: Hekate and the Ancestors. Beginning that descent into the ‘dark’ time between Samhain and Yule.

The Solstices and Equinoxes are kind of the main thing, and I kind of like the split, with Sobek and Heru-sa at the Solstices, and Wesir-Ra at the Equinoxes. Not that I need an excuse to honour Wesir-Ra. That God fascinates me so much. I think He’d work well as an Equinox God. Also, Hestia at each of the Solstices and Equinoxes to reinforce the Household stuff, now that we’ll have a proper Hearth for Her. (We’re in the middle of getting a proper fireplace built, with a proper mantle and everything. I swear, the house already feels warmer even when the gas heater isn’t on. But it has fake logs and real flames and it’s so nice to watch. 😀 I think Hestia finally approves because I am getting Nudges about a Shrine. I may have to dedicate that hearth to Her over the weekend, or at least light it and invite Her in, even if it’s incomplete.)

What I like about it is the split between the universal/seasonal/cosmic side of the Solstices and Equinoxes, and the more personal focus of the cross quarter days. I might try to keep that focus in my queer Wheel in one form or another. Hmm. /ponders. It makes for a good split between work for the world and your own personal growth, I think. I like that split anyway, even if no one else does.

For a while now, I’ve always conceived of the time between Samhain and Yule as a time of introspection and ‘hibernation’. It’s the sort of time where you can rest and prepare for Yule and the new year, but I wouldn’t start anything during that time, or do any magic. It’s a black period, like a descent into the Underworld, a forced period of rest and contemplation where you can do some srs inner work that might not be so easy to do at other times of the year. IDK if anyone else conceives of that time period in the same way I do, but that’s how I see it. I actually like that time. Sometimes you need the time to just concentrate on inner work. (It’s also the time where the Mysteries of Wesir falls in my rejigged fixed seasonally-appropriate perpetual calendar. Which works for me better than if it was the other way around. Much more appropriate time for it to be marked, at least for me.)

I’ve been trying, for a while now, to figure out which POV I should approach this path from, Roman, Greek, or Egyptian. But the more I looked into Greek and Roman recon stuff, and how they see the world, it just didn’t jive with my own beliefs at all. It wasn’t how I saw things. I think, through and though, that I’ll always be Kemetic first. I’m happy that I can be Kemetic with Graeco-Roman influences instead of some other weird combination. That makes a lot of sense to me. Aset keeps reminding me that my soul is Egyptian above all else. I will always belong to Egyptian Gods first and foremost, even if I sometimes honour Their Graeo-Roman forms from time to time. Sobek, Heru-sa-Aset, and Aset will always be my primary Gods, and Their permanent shrine is the one I should tend to daily before everything else. Knowing that, it makes my life a hell of a lot easier. Because it’s easier to build a practice once I know where I’m meant to be coming from. And now that I know that, that I’m approaching this as a Kemetic with a range of Graeco-Roman influences, I can begin to piece it all together. I’ve got the foundations to build on now. It helps me figure out how to structure my festival calendar.

I was going to ramble on a bit more about my calendar and why I’ve decided on a fixed permanent sort of calendar rather than a wandering one, but I might save that for another post. It requires more explanation than I have the energy for right now. So I’ll save that for later.

3 comments on “Sabbats and Calendars

  1. Khenneferitw says:

    The dark time you mentioned between Samhain and Yule? (The KO Calendar’s) Wesir Mysteries does fall between them in the Northern Hemisphere. I don’t know the exact calendrical bit, it’s something like the full moon before or after some other celestial thing… I’m not sure how relevant that is to your interests, though.

    I love your Wheel! Personal festival calendars make me happy. Keep rockin’ worlds!

    • Sashataakheru says:

      I’m glad it’s like that in the Northern Hemisphere too. This is probably the first time I’ve tried to match everything up properly and I hadn’t considered the Wheel and the Kemetic calendars together before. So that’s good to know, that the Mysteries is in the right place. It feels more appropriate to mark the Mysteries during that time anyway. When I wasn’t switching it round, it was at the very wrong time of the year, late spring/early summer, and it was too hot. Because I tend to veil during the vigil, for at least the first three hours, and yeah. Hot nights. D:

      I like how this calendar is coming together. I’m going to put (most of) it up here when it’s done as well, if only to show the sort of festivals I mark. There’s a lot of Kemetic ones, but I’m still working out which Greek and Roman ones I need to mark too, so it’s a bit incomplete right now.

  2. picklewalsh says:

    just to let you know you are now on the blogroll on PaganPickle 🙂 Awesome blog.

Leave a Reply

