N is for Nine Elements

This week’s topic is a bit of a weird one, but I don’t particularly talk about this system very often, so perhaps it’s not a bad time to revisit it. I still don’t know if there are any other existing systems of nine elements around. I haven’t managed to find one yet, but I never rule it out completely.

My system of nine elements came to me some time ago, and I still don’t really understand which part of my subconscious came up with it, but there you go. I’ve posted once about it, quite some time ago, but I think it’s time for a more cohesive and longer post that goes into this system in more detail. I’ve had a long time to ponder this system and its meaning to me by now, so I have many more thoughts than what I originally wrote about them.

My nine elements are as follows: Zero, One, Spirit, Air, Flesh, Fire, Water, Earth, and Infinity.

It goes beyond the traditional four elements of Earth, Air, Fire, and Water, and extends beyond the Earth to include the Cosmos as well. I find this gives a much more complete picture of what makes up the world than just the usual four. It’s spiritual as well as material, and for me, that’s important.

Zero, One, and Infinity are linked to/related to/embodied in the Kemetic Gods Tem, Nit, and Amun. Not specifically Them in particular; like, they could be other Gods if you relate to other pantheons. But those are the names I give them/They gave me.

Tem is Zero. Zie is the Zero point of the Cosmos. Zie has no gender, no form, nothing. Zie is Zero. I really can’t articulate it more than that. It’s not necessarily *The Creator* Zemself, but I think, if I had to say anything, it’s primordial creative potential, not yet realised.

Nit, the Great He-She, is One. Zie is allgendered, and represents the totality of form and gender. The Creative force, I think. Zie is, in some ways, the ‘opposite’ (if that’s even the right word) of Zero, the spark that can realise that creative potential. One can’t act without the other.

(It is not a coincidence that computers use binary code, ones and zeros. I am something of a technopagan in that I do believe energy and magic can flow across the Internet. Linking them with One and Zero here allows that linkage to happen.)

Amun is Infinity. He is the Hidden One, whose Form Is Hidden. He is vast and unknowable, as incomprehensible as Infinity is. He is everything and nothing. Present but hidden. Also, He wanted to be Infinity, so He gets it. I figure there’s something there to ponder at any rate. Infinity is as close as I can get to a “universal Divine” sort of thing, an all-pervasive unknowable Divinity that exists everywhere and in all of us that sticks everything together. Like dark matter, in a way. It’s not something humans can connect to, that is why we have Gods. Gods are reflections of this, small enough for us to grasp, but big enough for us to still feel awe and majesty at Their greatness.

All these combine to form Spirit, if that’s even the right word to describe it. Spirit, as far as I have figured out, is the Divine Spark that exists in all life and all throughout the Cosmos. It could also be called a Soul. Or a Mind. Or maybe all three. It is an immaterial thing that exists. I hesitate to use the word ‘consciousness’, or even ‘dark matter’, because this is a hard thing to really define. It’s all of these things, and yet, it is none of them too. It is immaterial and intangible. It means different things to different people. I think, in some ways, it is the end product, so to speak, of the combination of Zero, One, and Infinity, after They have come together to create the Universe.

Earth, Air, Fire, Water, and Flesh are Matter. They are material things. Earth is, well, the Earth, and all the things in it. So I count plants as an Earth thing as well as a Flesh thing. Rocks and magma are also Earth things, and for me, metals are also part of Earth, since they are found there. I find this a better picture of what the element of Earth actually is. Air, Fire and Water are pretty self-explanatory, I think.

Flesh is also not just meat-flesh, but also plant-flesh. It is the bodily form of life, whatever that life is. I never quite understood why Flesh was so often left out of the traditional set of elements, whereas Spirit was included. I may have a spirit, a mind, but it lives in this fleshy body of mine. The two are inextricably linked. I’m still figuring out what that means to me and being genderqueer, where my body isn’t the same gender as my mind. I don’t … necessarily see a clash? Because there isn’t anything in this that suggests gender? There is a mind and a body. How they sort themselves out is up to each person to figure out. I think that’s a better way of explaining it.

For me, this system is also linked in with the numbers 1, 4, 5, and 9, and the pentagram. But I’m still figuring out the best way to explain it, because it’s not entirely obvious or straightforward. It works in my head, but I’m not sure I’m quite ready to explain it to others just yet. But it is meaningful to me, and it’s why the pentagram I wear holds so much symbolism and meaning for me. Those numbers are also what I’d call pretty numbers too; they’re aesthetically pleasing to look at, and work well together. They’re also the four numbers on the Enneagram that I think I fit into, but have never quite worked out which one I am. But that’s beside the point. More an interesting coincidence than any sort of meaningful correlation.

Also, 1+4=5, 4+5=9, 5+9=14, 1+4=5, etc ad infinitum. I like a good number loopy sort of thingumie. :D? /but I digress. /yes it’s a wonky pattern at the end, but whatever. XD /I like number patterns. 😀

So that’s…. that’s my elemental system. I’m still figuring out how this even fits into my path, because at the moment, it’s still kind of conceptual, but I’d like to find a way to honour them all in ritual at some point, to call on them all and figure out how they work, geometrically speaking. I’ve got a set of prayer beads based on all nine too, which I want to use as a meditation tool. But I also need to write some words for that too. So, for lack of anything else to say about them, these are my nine elements, and they’re pretty much how I see the world.

3 comments on “N is for Nine Elements

  1. Jack says:

    Very interesting. I use a personal element system myself, but I really like the way you use Zero and One… That makes a lot of sense to me. I might have to revisit some of my vocabulary options.

  2. […] for my magical practice, most of which I do on this shrine. The pentacle has representations of the Nine Elements, my own personal elemental system. The wand also has these symbols scribed into it. It’s not […]

  3. […] because that’s not really what’s driving this. ‘Flesh’ is one of my Nine Elements, and it mainly relates to the physical bodies of things. Y’see, because I never felt like […]

Leave a Reply

