Sobek’s Parentage and the Nine Elements

Not a PBP post right now, that’s coming later on in the day, but a post on something related to my Nine Elements post from last week. And Sobek. And my creation mythos.

Because, see, Henadology’s page on Sobek talks about the only name for Sobek’s father that exists: Senuy, the two brothers. Nit, of course, is His mother. I remember reading that and realising I’d seen Senuy around somewhere before, elsewhere, but couldn’t quite remember where. But it was about Sobek somehow.

With my Nine Elements system, Tem, Nit, and Amun are all involved, too, as representatives of the primordial creative potential in the world. Sobek shares some of this power too, but He comes from Them. And it got me thinking, who are these two brothers? Why would Sobek have three parents?

I was thinking about this yesterday, and went on a walking meditation around the suburb with my music going, trying to figure it out. It seems really obvious now that I think about it. But of course it was a (UPG) reference to Tem and Amun. I’m not claiming any historical truth that They’re brothers, or that I have stumbled upon the One Truth about Sobek’s parents, but for me, this makes sense. It fits in with how I see the world.

Zero, One, and Infinity combine to create/give birth to/reveal Sobek and Heru-sa. Sobek needs to be born first so Xe can tend to Harpocrates within the Cosmic Egg. Sobek sparks the birth of the first Sun. And thus, Creation happens. Or something to that effect. (I may need to rewrite the myth, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.)

The parallels with Castor and Pollux are kind of here too. But I’m not quite at the point where I can really articulate those properly yet. I can see them, I feel like I’m close to grasping it, but I’m not quite there yet. Even if it’s just UPG, it’s still making sense of the world for me, and making my worldview complete, so it’s important for me to figure out. I doubt They’d have sent me off trying to figure this out if it wasn’t important to my path.

I think I might stop my musings here for the moment. I feel like I’ve got my head in the stars, looking at the Big Bang for the first time, and I need to stop and have lunch. And do some housecleaning. And try to digest this Mystery and what it means.

Leave a Reply

