Musings on Wesir-Ra

Wesir has been on my mind a lot lately. Ra was around for a few months late last year, but it’s shifted back to Wesir. I hesitate to say it definitely shifted at the Solstice, but I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s when it happened. If I’d been more organised/less busy with everything else, I probably would’ve written about Wesir-Ra for one of my W topics for the Pagan Blog Project. In lieu of that, I’m going to do it now, because I feel like I’m beginning to get a feel for the Wesir-Ra|Wesir/Ra dynamic, and I want to begin trying to write about it.

I know that hearing that Wesir was referred to as the ‘midnight sun/Ra’ is the most vivid reason as to why I’ve become so interested in Him. I’m sure I heard about Him a while back, but I can’t really pinpoint anything specific. I know I factored Him in when I was conceptualising my Wheel of the Year. Wesir-Ra has a light/dark dynamic that I feel particularly at the equinoxes.

I still don’t really know if Wesir-Ra is syncretised like Amun-Ra or more aspected like Sekhmet-Hethert. I think I’ve experienced both, to be honest. Ra is very much softened by Wesir, and Wesir finds a stronger voice with Ra. They are two separate gods in many ways, but Wesir-Ra as a distinct entity is different still from both of Them. I don’t know/can’t remember if Wesir-Ra was ever a historical Thing, so I won’t claim there is any authority behind this. All I know is that this is how I experience Wesir-Ra/Wesir and Ra.

I experience Ra as a bright and majestic falcon. He’s fiery, but He doesn’t feel as intense as I’ve heard others describe. This may just be because of how He works with Wesir. Wesir is certainly quiet and peaceful, but like I said above, He finds a (stronger?) voice with Ra. There’s more strength there than I had expected. He’s still quiet, but it’s not silence either. Perhaps … perhaps more like pre-dawn, where the sun is just beginning to emerge, but the sky is still somewhat dark. That’s what my Wesir feels like. That’s the Ra coming through in Him, I think. Wesir-Ra is a weird mix of Them both in a way I can’t really describe. I think the aspected side of Them is stronger for me than Wesir-Ra as a single entity.

I sometimes wonder why I prefer using the name Wesir-Ra when I talk about Wesir and Ra. It is the name I use for Them, and I can only assume it is the reason why I use an icon of Khonsu for Ra, because it has the lunar associations of Wesir with the falcon head/sun disk of Ra. I mean, I found a very nice icon of Ra the other day, but He wanted the Khonsu beside it, so who am I to deny Him what He wants? He wants an icon of Wesir to go with it, so I can have Them side by side/back to back. I saw a very lovely one the other day as well, but it was much too large and was over $100, so even though it was a lovely serene Wesir, and I felt His presence within it, it was not coming home with me. I’ve been looking for a nice bronze/silver colouring rather than bright gold, but I haven’t found the right one yet.

I don’t know why Wesir and Ra wish to hang about with me this way, but it’s working for me at any rate. Their duality is interesting, and I feel Their energies ebb and flow as the year progresses. It’s Wesir’s time now, and it will be His until the Equinox. Then Ra will rule til Midwinter, Wesir will rule the time til the next Equinox, and then Ra will rule til Midsummer. It’s perhaps not the cycle that one might suspect, in which Ra rules the light part of the year and Wesir the dark. But it makes sense to me anyway.

In some ways, I’m not surprised Wesir is on my mind at the moment. I’m almost done with my year with Hekate, and it seems appropriate that Wesir should be around during this time of transition. It’s certainly felt like that time between Samhain and Yule lately, at any rate. That kind of deep introspection where you need to hibernate a while before things begin anew. A couple of lovely Hestia things from Temwa arrived today, and I took the chance to rejig the shrines again to make space for it. They’re not really finished yet, though. They’re more like drafts. I’ll post photos when they’re done properly, though.

I’ve also been writing some mythology fic this week. It has footnotes and everything! /pedant. It was meant to be a sequel to this rather extravagant fic, and it was intended to be a Trope Bingo fill.  It’s not really turned out the way I thought it might, though. It’s strayed into territory I had not expected, and has left me wondering what exactly is the nature of a dead god (as opposed to a not!dead god, I suppose), amongst other things.

I still don’t know where the idea came from, or Who might’ve given it to me. I am willing to admit I may just be playing around with theological ideas in a fictional framework in an attempt to Figure Shit Out. Writing is generally how I do that anyway, but I don’t normally do it with fiction. I can’t tell if it’s a result of thinking about Wesir lately, or the result of something else. But writing is writing, so I can’t really complain too much where it comes from or who might’ve inspired it.

Y’see, it begins with a dead young god. Young in the sense that he is a new god, not an old one. Amun might’ve encouraged this beginning, but I don’t know. All I know is that, as I sat on the train on Wednesday, I had this image in my head of Amun carrying the body of this god in his arms into Wesir’s court and laying him at His feet. (The theological physics of this universe are such that gods are fed by belief, but they can fade out of existence if that’s taken away. Gods can also kill other gods, but that is a different kind of death, or so I’ve been told. I don’t know how different, though.)

It is strange to treat him in such a materialistic way, that there is still a body, lifeless though it is, that can be brought to Wesir. I think it’s more of a hangover from Egyptian mythology and how Wesir is talked about. Gods die like we die, because there is no other way to understand it. And yet. I still wonder what it means when we talk about a dead god. It is this that has me stuck. I want to finish this story, but I am not sure how just yet, only that I need to puzzle this out for myself before I can finish it.

The traditional Wheel narrative involves dead and dying gods. Wesir is a dead god. This young god I am writing about is a dead god. In my story, Amun says that he brought the young dead god to Wesir because he was the only one who knew those mysteries of death and dying. (Within the Kemetic pantheon, at least.) Death obviously means different things to gods than it does to humans, but I don’t know if I will ever truly know just how different it is. I can only attempt it with imprecise language and the limitations of my human imagination. Perhaps I might get a little closer to glimpsing those mysteries as I finish it.

Leave a Reply

