General Shortform Solitary Kemetic Rite is done!

Had a bit of inspiration at last, and have written up the short form of the general solitary Kemetic rite I did a while back. I haven’t tested out the short form ritual yet, but I’ve tried to make it as short as possible, while still containing the basic elements of the longer rite. I wrote up a very short and simple purification sequence, just so there’s something there to begin with.

I wanted the short form to be useful for daily devotions, still with traditional elements, but without the trappings of a State rite, so someone who’s just starting out could use it as a base to work from as they start getting used to Kemetic ritual style. I can’t really vouch for its effectiveness just yet, because I haven’t tested it out, and I don’t like putting rites up I haven’t done yet, but I’ll do that sometime in the next week and modify it after that, if it needs it.

I have also edited the long form rite, as well, just a little bit. Mostly formatting, and a couple of optional additions.

In writing it up, I also had half an idea about writing up a henu prayer, using the henu gestures in a sequence to pray with in a simple devotional act. Something that could be done silently and without any tools or supplies, for those times when you don’t have anything, but need/want to pray? That kind of thing that utilised the movement of the body to pray in a Kemetic style. Because I’ve found I really like that, and IDK, maybe others might really like it too?

I’m going to go off and think about that some more and maybe I might come up with something. Hmm. Mostly because I’ve got A Book of Pagan Prayer by Ceisiwr Serith now, and the bit on how to pray at the beginning has given me lots of Thinky Thoughts about movements, henu, gestures, and prayer. So yes. (I also got the companion book, A Pagan Ritual Prayer Book, and I am going to enjoy devouring all their wisdom. Plus, I love holding them. They are lovely books to hold. Just the right size and such.)

I have also been working my way slowly through Christian Jacq’s Magic and Mystery in Ancient Eygpt, and that, too, has given me many Thinky Thoughts on magicians and mystery things and Wesir-Ra things. Picked it up second hand at a market for IDK $10? Bargain. Will write more about that when they are a little more coherent than ‘ooh, that’s interesting!’ combined with ‘WESIR-RA OMG’. Maybe when I’m finished with it, I’ll write up my thoughts on it. Lots of good stuff in there, and I’m not even halfway through yet.

Also, I may or may not still be thinking about the concept of a ‘Kemetic Druid’ and how that might even be a Thing anyway. Stay tuned.

8 comments on “General Shortform Solitary Kemetic Rite is done!

  1. picklewalsh says:

    I love the idea of your Short Form ritual. If you would like another opinion on it i would love to help.

    The idea of using gestures for prayer is something i have thought about for a long time, would love to discuss that with you a bit further.

    And as far as the Kemetic Druid thing goes. It is certainly doable, I was part of a Druid order for years and combined it with my Kemetic belief very well. Hence why you will see allot about burial mounds, ect on my blog.

    Awesome post as usual 🙂

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Thanks. I think the short rite turned out really well, though I’ll know properly once I’ve had a chance to do a rite with it. I’m a bit experiential when it comes to ritual. I need to do it first to see if it works as well as I want it to. The rite is a basic thing that is meant to be modified and customised, so yeah, if you want to play around with it, go right ahead.

      Yeah, I kind of neglected gestures for quite some time, but when I was putting my current set of daily rites together, I think somewhere someone suggested gestures, too, and I ended up with a spoken rite, and a gestured silent rite. But I want to go a little further than that and do something centred around henu and movement with prayer. I’m happy to discuss gestures in prayer with you, totally. I’m always up for new ideas. 🙂

      I think it’s doable too. It makes no conflict in my head, particularly as I’m kind of doing it Roman ADF style right now? So the druidry thing takes care of the Romano-British side of my path, while this is the Graeco-Kemetic side of things. And somehow, everything makes sense. I still kind of want to play around with the liturgy forms I have and see if Kemetic deities and concepts might work. Just to see if it could be done in a way that works for me. Y’know, because I’m curious like that. 😛

      Thanks for commenting. It’s nice to see you posting again, too. 😀

      • picklewalsh says:

        Back when i was into ritual allot more i condensed the LBRP into a series of quick movements. I tried to work it through muscle memory, by doing the movements while doing the full ritual i would subconsciously associate the movements with the different parts of the ritual and thus be able to pull off a LBRP in seconds if needed lol. It had mixed results but i think the concept was a good one.

        As far as the Kemetic Druidry goes, there is just something that feel right about it. I dunno, wonder if there is something in the past we dont know about lol.

        Thanks for the welcome back, bare with me if im spamming a bit at the moment, just trying to find my balance again lol

        • Sashataakheru says:

          Haha, I’ve never quite thought about it for those kind of rituals, but I can see how it might be effective for various kinds of protection magicks or rites.

          I’ve been mostly chewing over Sobek-Wesir-Ra things, and the water-earth-sky thingo, and it’s kind of doing my head in, tbh. Cos Sobek kind of does Wesir-y things, and Wesir does Ra-y things, and Ra does … Sobek-y? and Wesir-y things? and … I’ll get back to you when it’s a little more coherent than that. XD I swear, it makes sense in my head! Kind of.

          Yeah, I know the feeling. 🙂

  2. Ekunyi says:

    The concept of meaningful, ritual motions appeals to me greatly as a once-martial artist. Are you familiar with kata? Not all varieties of martial arts are the same, of course, but in the Okinawan style I trained in, you began with an opening stance and set of hand gestures which announced the kata you would be performing, then moved through a set of motions which had several layers of meaning (self-defense of course, but also symbolic references to various animals/events), and finally concluded with a gesture at the end that we used to conclude all kata. You trained at various speeds, with or without others, with the thought process that there was something new to be learned in each repetition. It could never go exactly the same way each time, so there was always something to be gained by doing it again.

    Not sure if any of this could be applicable with what you’re going for, but if nothing else, I thank you for drawing a similar parallel and providing me with the chance to consider the aspect of prayer. It seems a really significant idea to be able to do something, even when you’re completely without “tools” of any kind.

    Also: “Plus, I love holding them. They are lovely books to hold. Just the right size and such.”

    I feel this way about certain books as well. Glad to see I’m not the only crazy book nerd out there. 😉

    • Sashataakheru says:

      I’m not familiar with that, no, but I like the way you’ve described the kata, though. It sounds like a fascinating practice. I know that part of my interest in ritual gestures stems from my interest in tai chi. I’ve never learnt it formally, though, but there’s something so serene about those deliberately slow movements that I’m trying to capture in my own ritual gestures. Particularly because I got a nudge in ritual about a week ago to slow down my henu progression, and that’s had an interestingly good effect on my prayerful mindset. Which is half the reason, I think, that I got another prod about a henu prayer that could be done without words or tools. Just with the body. I really love the movement of the body during my rites, in a way I never really understood until I’d tried it. It’s opened up a whole new way of thinking about ritual.

      I am such a nerd about books, ngl. Some books just feel great to hold. It’s kind of addictive, tbh. It’s hard to give that up for ebooks, y’know. 😛

  3. I would be interested in this ritual you are talking about. I’m a beginner Kemetic Pagan, and only have two books my Sharon LaBorde and one book called Magic And Religion In Ancient Egypt, which is a fascinating read.

    Anyway, I also follow the path of Druidry, which may seem like a completely different can of worms, but I find myself existing as both, and they are equally spiritually and academically fulfilling. I plan on buying more Egyptian books because learning about these ancient peoples helps to form ideas on where we are today and what I would miss if I didn’t put the time into learning about the history of Kemeticism.

Leave a Reply

