Wesir-Ra <3

Wesir-Ra

Picked up this lovely seated Wesir today. ❤ My local New Age/Pagan shop is finally beginning to get Egyptian stuff in, which I have whole-heardedly encouraged, and I saw Him in the window. ❤ I have been looking for the right sort of Wesir statue for a while, and I’m glad I found Him. Just in time for the Mysteries at the end of the month. 😀

Still using Khonsu icons for Ra, which are invariably named as Horus. But it’s what Ra wants, so I feel no need to stop. Besides, it all looks balanced now. My ickle Ra/Wesir statues now have larger ones to complement them. 😀

I am in the middle of redoing the top shrine, too. I’ve decided that trying to kneel during prayers and rites is just going to hurt my knees, so I’ve decommissioned the lower shrine so now I can keep prayer books, incense, and other things within easy reach.

I’m trying to figure out a way to have a hearth/household shrine within the larger shrine right now, so I can do daily household rites, which is what I’m currently working on. I have further thoughts on household practices I need to do a PBP post on at some point, though. I’m beginning to get a feel for how this practice will work, having more simple household rites most of the time, and saving the more priestly rites for festivals and Sabbats and such. Which I think may give me the balance between being an onion hoer and Sobek’s priestly duties.

I’ve spent a lot of time lately thinking about that, about what being a priest means, the work Sobek wants me to do, what I am willing to do, and what I am really more interested in doing. I’ve never been particularly interested in High Priestly duties, and right now, I feel the work is more geared towards writing the Sobek myths than anything else. That may change with time, of course, but for now, that’s where we stand.

That, and I feel like it helps to bridge that weirdness that I feel having a Temple (in a manner of speaking) in a domestic home. I feel like, in that context, household rites should come first; priestly rites second. But like I said, that’s how it is right now. In five years, who knows?

Leave a Reply

