Happy Birthday, Sobek! :D

Gathering Offerings at the Shrine at Kom Ombo. Devotional Art for Sobek for His birthday festival on July 10th/II Peret 10, 2013. Coloured pencil and pen on bog-standard A3 cartridge paper.

Gathering Offerings at the Shrine at Kom Ombo. Devotional Art for Sobek for His birthday festival on July 10th/II Peret 10, 2013. Coloured pencil and pen on bog-standard A3 cartridge paper. Took me 7 hours. Worth every minute. ILU, Daddy. ❤

Just did a simple rite for Him this evening, though it was later than I had planned for, due to unexpected relatives dropping by (at some point unknown!) and I didn’t want to be interrupted. I kinda hoped all they wanted to do was drop something off and then leave, which they did, but I didn’t want to assume that, either, so it kind of made things more difficult than they needed to be. So the rite wasn’t quite at sunset, but about forty minutes later. But, I don’t think Sobek minded.

Still, I offered Sobek marinated chicken, which we had for dinner, a rum + Coke, and a mini mud cake thing (because birthdays!), as well as the art. I wrote a birthday hymn, which I read for Him at the beginning, and I read out His adorations once the offerings had been given.

And now I am playing ALL THE SABBATH because metal! and Sobek! and, well, like I need a reason, anyway, but. :D? Though I will be doing my 750words.com words in a moment before bed, because also LAPTOP IS COMING TOMORROW MORNING OMG. 8D?

Anyway, this is meant to be about Sobek, so instead of turning this into a DW entry, I’ll post the hymn I wrote for Him, and cc it over to the prayers/hymns section tomorrow.

A Birthday Hymn For Sobek
Your child Sobekemiti calls out to the Lord of the Nile!
Bring us Your radiance, Lord!
Your child calls out to the first mound, Ptahtenen!
Be still and stable below our feet, enduring forever.
Your child calls out to the Lord of Bakhu!
Emerge from Your carnelian temple, great one, to greet me!
Your child calls out to the Son of Nit!
Rager, Great One, be at peace with me.
Your child calls out to the fertile one, to the one who makes the herbage green!
Rise, Great One, from the waters!
Bring Your black silt to the Nile!
Your child calls out to the Evening Star!
Bright in His Heaven, shine Your Starfire down upon us!
Your child calls out to Your Mother and Father, the Great He-She!
Honour to You, Nit, Creatrix, who brought forth the great crocodile Sobek!
The fruit of Your womb is forever fertile!
Your child calls out to the Lords of Kom Ombo!
Sobek and Heru, the Two Horizons, all praise be to You Shining Ones!

Dua Sobek! Dua Nit! Dua Heru! Nekhtet! 😀

One comment on “Happy Birthday, Sobek! :D

  1. shefyt says:

    Love the picture and the prayer! Dua Sobek!

Leave a Reply

