Hekate and runes

I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of things, and not paying enough attention to writing it all up. The Covenant of Hekate have had this month-long daily devotional thing going since the beginning of the month, which I thought I’d do, since the focus was on improving meditation and visualisation skills. And it’s been good, if intense. I don’t mind a bit of visualisation here and there, particularly since Sobek finally told me how to do it in a way that would be effective for me, but it’s quite trying on my brain to do it every day, and I will admit to skipping a couple of days, or just doing the breathing meditation instead, because I haven’t felt up to the visualisation. Since I need to do some visualisation work for Sobek tonight, it’s breathing again for Hekate. I don’t have the spoons to do visualisation work on a constant basis, but at least I figured that out sooner rather than later.

The visualisations have been quite productive though. Lots of tarot imagery, and some runes as well. Artemis showed up as well, in connection with Yr, but there you go. That was hardly surprising, to be honest, since the rune is signifying the bow. It did make me want to take up archery though, which I’ve wanted to do since I was a kid. I have always loved archery. I blame Disney’s Robin Hood movie. That is burned into my memory from since I was a child. I spent a lot of time as a kid making bows from sticks and lacky bands, and making arrows out of whatever I could find. I dunno how good I’d be at archery, since I have shitty eyesight and all, but I guess I won’t know unless I try.

I’ve started a proper book for runes and my work with them, so I can begin to take notes on what they mean to me, and what I garner from them. Thanks to my meditations with Hekate, I’ve already got a few notes down for Eolh (elk-sedge) and Yr (bow). Eolh came first, early in the month, and it struck me that the rune looks more like a bow with an arrow than Yr does, and that got me seeing Eolh as an archer standing guard on the borders of the marshlands, watching for anyone who might attack. Arrow is drawn for quick firing. And, naturally, this led to pondering Yr, and Artemis turned up.

I don’t know, particularly, how I knew it was Artemis. She didn’t look particularly like anyone, just a woman in a white robe stood beside a large cauldron/brazier/thing for burning fire in, at the crossroads of a weird three-way Möbius strip of pathways that went around the moon. And She basically walked towards me and kissed me, so.  Like, a proper kiss on the lips. That sort of kiss.

She was definitely much less obviously feminine every other time I saw Her. She was definitely more androgynous, particularly as hunter/archer. Makes me want to set up a queer gods shrine when I redo my bedroom, since I don’t really have a proper space for that. Somewhere for Her, and Nit, and Sobek, and Wesir, and any other queer gods who turn up. I guess it really is time to start paying attention to Artemis, since She keeps turning up, and I have, so far, ignored Her. Maybe Artemis is one of those gods who’s just always been there, just because, like Ganesha. IDK.

I will say, though, that while I might not keep up with the Hekate daily devotions in the form they are now, I might mod it into something useful, without the daily visualisations, so at least I’ll feel like I’m paying attention to Hekate more than just once a month. But we’ll see how I feel at the end of the month, and what I’ve got out of it. I might not want to see it again. But then again, I might also feel like my daily devotions are long enough, and I’m losing valuable spoons I could use to, y’know, write things, rather than become a contemplative devotional polytheist or something. (Which is probably where I’m leaning, tbh. I want my brain back to write, gdi. Enough of gods taking over my brain.)

But enough of that, I think. It’s late, it’s already Pi Day, and I need to get to bed. More later when I find the brain power to do so.

 

Leave a Reply

