Hymn to Sobek Shedety – Ramesseum Papyrus 6

I’ve been looking into Sobek Shedety of late, because I feel like there’s something there I ought to know. One of those nagging little things, y’know, where you need to look into it, or it won’t leave you alone. I’d actually never heard of Sobek Shedety/Sobek of Shedet, until I found that book by Marco Zecchi on that subject, and I’m still glad someone wrote an actualfax book all about Sobek. Sobek Shedety also has a couple of pages of epithets in the LAGG, and I wish I had access to all the pages so I could begin translating them all. I’d love to compare them to Heru-sa-Aset’s epithets, to see how many were shared. I also feel like, how have I not heard of Sobek Shedety until now? But maybe it’s just because no one writes about Sobek, so no one really bothered to look at that, until now, at least.

The hymn to Sobek Shedety was one I came across, thanks to a reference in Marco Zecchi’s article, Osiris in the Faiyum, and went looking for a complete version of the hymn. Well, as much of it as we have, anyway. The British Museum has it all up here, if you want to look through all the fragments, along with their translations. It’s really fascinating. It is clearly invoking Sobek, but there’s a part where it’s clearly identifying Him with Heru-sa-Aset, and proclaiming Him the son of Wesir. It’s actually the first time I’ve seen proper evidence that Sobek and Heru-sa-Aset were linked together in this way. I’d heard about it, and read speculation, but that’s the first time I’d seen proof of it. That it was an actual historical thing and not just my weird UPG.

I have also recently found images of this statue of Sobek wearing the double crown. (Source) (And a side view) I’ve never seen that statue before, either. It’s Late Period, 589-595BCE , from Psammetichus II/Neferibre’s reign. I don’t know anything more about this particular statue, though it is rare to see Sobek wearing anything other than His plumes. Occasionally, I see Him with the sundisk, when He’s more Sobek-Ra, and sometimes, He wears no headgear on His crocodile head, but this is the first time I’ve seen Him wearing the double crown. And I am fascinated by that.

So much of this makes me more inclined to think that I am dealing with Sobek Shedety, rather than plain Sobek, because this Sobek was closely tied to Heru-sa-Aset, which I’ve been trying to figure out for years since my RPD in 2006. Eight years later, I think I’m finally beginning to understand it. It’s all tied up with Wesir’s myth cycle, of course, and with the Faiyum as Wesir’s burial ground, well, a lot of things are making sense. I haven’t finished reading through Zecchi’s article, but I think he does mention there were cases of Sobek also being associated with Wesir, as much as with Heru-sa-Aset, or because of His association with Heru-sa-Aset, and that makes a lot of sense to me, too. I had always wondered why, with my Celestial Twins thing, that Sobek felt as much Heru’s father, as His twin. For me, it’s more Sobek as Heru’s father, more than Sobek as Wesir. But maybe I’m splitting hairs there. Sobek is Amun is Ra is Ptah is Wesir, after all. (I’m still figuring that out, too.)

2 comments on “Hymn to Sobek Shedety – Ramesseum Papyrus 6

  1. Oh, you need the LGG (Lexicon of the Egyptian Gods)? =)

    I may share it with you, I mean, the entire LGG 🙂 if you will also translate the list of epitheths for Djehuty (because I don’t know german and my ancient-egyptian is very weak).

    And if you know german well, may be eventually translate few other ancient-egyptian things that are available in german only for now?.. There are a couple of rare AE hymns and prayers I’d like to get translated. (They have corresponding hieroglyphics + german translation)

    So we have a deal? =)
    You may send me an email, inity.tm at gmail.com .

    P.S. I translated some of your devotional poetry into russian before, if you remember me. =)

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Ah, yes, hello again. I remember you. I hope you’re keeping well. 🙂

      Yes, that’s the one I mean. I’m used to seeing it abbreviated as LAGG.

      My German skills are actually pretty terrible. I’m using Google Translate, and my awesome skills at pattern matching, since epithets are better suited to that sort of thing. Like, once you know the words, and you know generally how epithets are phrased, it’s not that difficult? It does take me a while, but I know Egyptian better than German, and that helps figure out what meaning to use. Some I’m still unsure of because the phrasing doesn’t make sense to me, but I’m going to run those by a fluent German speaker to make sure they’re correct.

      I mean, there are better German speakers on the Kemetic Orthodox forums than me, just so you’re aware I’m not your only option. But if you’re willing to send me the pages, and you’re happy to wait, I’ll see what I can do? I’m interested in Sobek, Sobek-Ra, and Sobek Shedety’s pages, since I am a creature of logic and have two pages of Sobek’s epithet’s done so far. My email is ibdjehutyATgmail.com, if you want to go ahead with it.

Leave a Reply

