Epithets of Sobek

So I finally got my hands on Marco Zecchi’s Sobek of Shedet book (thank you, Book Depository!), and I’ve spent the afternoon reading through it and taking notes. I’ll rifle through it again (and again) as I go back and rewrite my page on the history of Sobek, because man, I now have A LOT more information about Sobek’s cult than I did yesterday, so. It’s a lot to take in. It’s not every day you get 200 pages just about Sobek. ❤

Anyway, I’ve put up a list of His epithets on a shiny new page here, along with the first page of translated epithets from the LAGG. Go and marvel. Two of my favourites are ‘the beautiful calf before the great flood’, and He ‘who cuts through the sky with His double-feathered crown’. N’aww. ❤

Zecchi’s book is a really good read, too. IDK if it’s just a quirk of how he writes, but he talks about the gods as if they’re real beings, like Sobek of Sumenu preferring to be associated with Ra., whereas Sobek of Shedet preferred the association with Heru. It’s that inclusion of the relationship between priests and gods, kings and gods, and not just focussed on what humans did to worship the god. And he goes into the personality of Sobek quite well, and shows how it changed over the years. Sobek never feels like a dry academic concept of a god; Zecchi manages to bring Him to life in the way He writes about Him. Is it passion? IDK. But there’s life in Zecchi’s writing about Sobek that I don’t often see in Egyptological papers. Like I said, might be a quirk of his writing style, but I like it.

At least I’m beginning to understand why my Sobek and Heru are so close, and why I feel it’s so important to finish this Sobekian-Wesirian myth cycle. That was actually a Thing back then, though I think my version is very much my own. My Sobek isn’t Heru, but watches over Him instead. But then again, if I try to think about Sobek-Heru as a single god, my head begins to hurt. Ow. I like my practice the way it is right now without confusing it with syncretic gods. XD

Leave a Reply

