Happy Solstice!

Happy Solstice, everyone! I hope your rituals and celebrations have been going well, if you’ve been planning them. I hope you northern hemisphere types aren’t burning up under the power of the sun. Can you send some down here? It’s been horrid today.

I’m doing final preparations for my ritual tonight. It’s been wet and raining all day, so it’s been impossible to go out and buy any offerings, so I’m making do with what I can find at home. There’s some leftover beef from our Yule Feast last night, and I thought I’d offer that, along with some sort of drink. IDK yet. Depends how eager I am to drink something cold on a cold night.

(It’s still raining. Sobek’s presence is great today.)

I’ll post photos of the Yule Feast hearth later, but it was a great night, and it’s always good to mark the time with others. It’s never particularly pagan, but good company makes up for that. My parents are away tonight, at a friend’s 40th, and they’ll be back tomorrow, so I’ve got the house to myself now. Perfect for long rituals.

I’m at that point where I’m trying to figure out where everything’s going. Yeah. That’s always fun. I’ve been shifting tiny libation bowls around all afternoon, but I think I’ve just about got it organised. I’ve just finished writing the solstice hymn I’m going to use during the rite, and I thought I’d share it here for your enjoyment.

A Hymn for the Solstice
By Sobekemiti, 21/6/2014

Your servant calls out to the Lord of the Nile!
Bring us Your radiance, Lord!
The longest night of the year us upon us!
Bring us Your radiance, Lord!

Your servant calls out to the Lord of Bakhu!
Emerge from Your carnelian temple to greet us!
Solstice is upon us, Midwinter is here,
Come from Your temple to feed us!

Your servant calls out to the Lord of the Waters!
Lord, rain down Your sweat upon the land!
The air grows cold, and the land is barren,
Brought to life by Your gifts!

Your servant calls out to the Shining One,
Sobek, who illuminates the Two Lands,
The long nights are here, your power is supreme,
Show us the way back home.

Your servant calls out to the Bright Soaring Falcon!
Bring us Your warmth, newborn sun!
From Wesir You come forth, small and weak,
A spark of hope in a dismal winter.

Your servant calls out to the Lord of the Skies,
Heru, Great One, be strong for us!
As winter fades, and Sobek’s waters retreat,
Returns us to the warmth of Your embrace.

Your servant calls out to the Avenging One!
Heru, child, take the throne that is Yours!
As the wheel turns, so You come into Your power,
Bright Sun, Soaring Falcon, return to us!

Your child calls out to the Lords of Shedety,
Sobek, Heru, Twin Lords of the Two Lands,
At Solstice, this night, deep, dark, and cold,
Bring Your radiance, Lords, Your starfire, Your peace!

3 comments on “Happy Solstice!

  1. jewelofaset says:

    Beautiful hymn! Dua Sobek! Dua Heru-sa-Aset!

  2. Wwpw says:

    Hi! I just wanted to thank you for maintaining this website. It’s been indispensable for me as I’ve grown in my practice. I primarily worship Sobek, and I use your short form ritual almost every day. Dua Sobek!

    • Sashataakheru says:

      😀 This is why I’ve kept maintaining this website for the past ten years, so it can be a useful resource for other Kemetics and Sobek devotees. I’m glad you’re getting good use out the shortform ritual, too. That’s great! Dua Sobek! 😀

Leave a Reply

