Coronation of Heru-sa-Aset

So this is the first day of this shiny festival, which is an extension, if you like, of the last day of the Mysteries of Wesir. I wanted a symmetry for my Wheel, and this seemed like the best way to mirror/echo the Mysteries, by having a six-day coronation festival for Heru, particularly at this point in time, when summer is a month or so away, the heat is growing as winter trails off at last. It feels like the best time to do this, so that’s what’ll be happening for the next six days.

So this will run from Oct 31 to Nov 5, mostly because Oct 31 is so strongly associated with Halloween in my mind, and I wanted to break that, and make new connections, hence the later date, which coincides with Bonfire Night/Guy Fawkes in the UK, and sort of reflects some of those themes of authority/legitimate rule suppressing/triumphing over rebellion/chaos, with Heru triumphing over Set to claim the throne as legitimate King. It’s not a like-for-like association, but those themes, along with the fires, are still relevant, in their own way.

This is still something of a sketchy thing at the moment, and I’m sure it will evolve as I mark it year after year, so for now, this is what I’ve got. The run-down of each day is:

  1. Oct 31: Triumph over Set
  2. Nov 1: Claiming the Throne
  3. Nov 2: Offerings to Wesir
  4. Nov 3: Purifications and Preparations
  5. Nov 4: Seclusion and Vigil
  6. Nov 5: Coronation Feast

I kind of wanted to structure it around what might happen at a coronation, though I’ve probably bodged it a bit, because I couldn’t find anything concrete to work off. So it’s probably not entirely historically accurate, but given this is a festival I’m creating from scratch, because I feel I would’ve heard if this was a historical festival, it is what it is, for now, and remains a modern creation.

Because this is so new, I’m still building the myths and practices surrounding it, and maybe next year, I’ll have a better idea for ritual ideas. But for now, I’m planning to write a hymn/prayer every day for the festival. I also thought about writing a retelling of the Contendings as I go, but I still don’t really have a good place to start with that, so I might leave that for next year. Plus, it’s NaNo tomorrow, and I am hopelessly unprepared, so.

I mean, I have seriously started a rewrite of the Contendings about three times now, and never got very far with any of them. I keep rereading whatever versions I can find for inspiration, but I still don’t think I’ve quite got the right idea yet. I think I want to do too many things and it’s just getting complicated. I may need to see if I can’t split it into separate things, to make it easier. Then Set can have His own thing, and I can deal with that, and then I can write Heru’s thing, and deal with that, and maybe Sobek or Nit can have a thing too, because objectivity, or something. *handwaves*

Maybe it would be easier to split it into separate bits, rather than try to address the whole thing in one sitting. There is a lot to get through, and if I want to not just address Set’s role in it and His grief, but also Heru’s, and have space to have Heru choosing Sobek as consort because UPG, and to deal with that, maybe that’s the better approach. It may still not get written this year, but at least I may begin to make some progress in plotting out what gets written, and which perspective to work with. That may help bring it to fruition, and give me a chance to offer different perspectives on the myth. I think it’s too easy to demonise Set in rewriting it, and I really don’t want to do that. At the same time, I don’t want to demonise Heru, either. Which is why I think I need Sobek in the middle somewhere to calm the two of Them down, and offer a less strident account of it, without taking sides. I mean, Sobek does take sides, but I think He’s better suited to telling it more objectively than either Set or Heru can.

But anyway. I’ll go give that some thought and go post today’s hymn. I’ll also be going back and re-editing the page I have on the Wheel, to flesh it out some more, and change things up, because it’s changed (obviously) and could do with more explanation of each festival, particularly as a it’s a modern hybrid construct thing, rather than a traditional Wheel or a traditional Kemetic calendar.

2 comments on “Coronation of Heru-sa-Aset

  1. von186 says:

    Honestly, your 6 points above do mirror the “Ancestor ritual” from antiquity, and it seems like a sound idea. Not sure if you’ve read it, but My Heart My Mother (Roberts) goes into this pretty well. Might help to give you some more ideas for making your festival :>

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Well, that’s partly because I drew inspiration from the Mysteries as well, but yeah. I’m not familiar with that book at all, but I’ll look it up and see if I can find it. I’m always up for more resources.

Leave a Reply

