Happy Solstice!

Winter Solstice hearth 2015

This year’s hearth shrine for our midwinter feast. Greenman/Wild Hunt theme. This is the best photo I managed to take, so sorry it’s a bit blurry. My phone will only do so much.

I hope everyone has had a blessed Solstice. We had our midwinter feast last night, and it was a lovely evening. I’m really enjoying being able to share the Solstice with friends, even if they’re not Pagan. Pictured above is my decorated hearth for this year’s feast. I get to decorate the hearth, and it’s always a lot of fun. I went with a Greenman/Wild Hunt sort of theme. Also, you can’t really see it too well, but there is some ivy tucked up there behind it all, because I can’t not have any greenery at all.

At least we had some good wintery weather. It rained all day, and the wind was fierce. There was even some thunder in the evening. Really set the mood, and made us want to settle in for a good roast and pudding. Dad even made some mulled wine, though it still wasn’t enough to make me like wine. Mum wasn’t so keen on it, either, but eh. Everyone else seemed to like it, which is fine by me. Mum made some little figgy puddings in muffin tins, and there’s still a bunch left over. We had some of the pork for lunch today. Our fridge is filled with leftovers. It is glorious. And the sun has been out for most of the day today, so obvs our feasting worked, and the sun decided to come back wooooo. ❤

I’ll be doing a simple ritual this evening to mark the Solstice for myself. I’m working tomorrow, so I don’t want to do a full ritual, but I’ll do something small, and offer some water anyway. I think I might also do my First Oath ritual, since I had pencilled it in for Solstice, and I think I’m almost happy with the wording I picked. But we’ll see. I’ll decide this afternoon how I want to do that, and how I want to incorporate those things.

While I’m thinking of DP things, I did make a DP blog, even if it is mostly empty. There was some other stuff I wanted to put there, but haven’t got around to it for various reasons. I’ve actually written more in my paper journal than the blog suggests, and there are some things I want to put up on the blog for posterity/ponderings. Anyway. If you want to follow it, go ahead. Don’t expect consistent regular updates. I’m doing this at my own pace, in between everything else, and giving myself time to really think about everything. I don’t want to rush it.

Anyway. I’m still contemplating what to do with my monthly schedule of rituals. I’m getting the sense they need to be rejigged, so I can include more meditation time with Sobek and Heru, but I’m still not sure how to rearrange it. I feel like I need a more general noumenia rite, instead of one specific to Hekate, because I feel like the work I’ve done with Her is mostly over, for now. The Covenant of Hekate has a new moon ritual involving Hestia, Hekate, and Hermes, and I might pick that one up again, or perhaps use it for inspiration to write my own. Not sure about the rest. We’ll see. I’m still trying to decide what the best rhythm will be. Because apparently I care about tat. Who knew?

Something I’ve been considering for a while, since it was mentioned by Hekate in meditation months ago, relates to my RPD, and the gods I’m currently working with. When I was divined, back when I was Kemetic Orthodox, my line up was, child of Sobek, beloved of Heru-sa-Aset, Aset, Djehuty, and Wepwawet. A bit like how Aset was the face/name I needed back then, and now I need Isis, Hekate suggested that those names were the names I needed back then, and now, it’s Hekate, Hermes, and Artemis, instead of Aset, Djehuty, and Wepwawet. Perhaps not in the sense of ‘same being, different name’, but those were the gods I needed then, and these are the gods I need now. I would certainly find it hard to work in a purely Kemetic framework anymore, because it just doesn’t work for me anymore. Graeco-Kemetic druidry is the thing that works for me now. Perhaps it was always going to be that way, but I don’t know. Maybe it’ll change in a decade when I need other things. I don’t know. Though this feels far more stable than anything else I previously did. So I don’t know. I’ll leave that question open-ended, rather than pretend like I know anything for certain. I’ll just think about it, and see where it takes me.

I’ve also been contemplating robes and clothing and how my service doesn’t just stop when I finish ritual. But then I’ve always been fascinated by monks and nuns, and this idea of wearing robes all the time as a mark of service to a god still fascinates me. I don’t know if I will ever only have one outfit, but more a whole wardrobe of clothes that are Sobek and Heru’s, so nothing I wear will be insignificant. But that’s the sort of thing that will take time (and money), so I’m not rushing out to complete that just yet. Mostly, it’s a mindset right now, being more mindful of what I’m wearing. The colours, textures, their meaning, etc. Like, the brown shirt I picked up last week totally reminds me of Heru, it’s His sort of brown. There’s power and magic in that colour and in wearing it with that sort of intention.

Also, I have decided that kitchen witchery is a Thing I need to read more about, because it’s simple and uncomplicated, and I am not one who cares for elaborate magic or rituals, so. I’ve always been a tad uninterested in this idea of buying herb and spell ingredients I can’t find in the herb and spice rack of my local supermarket, because convenience etc. I’m still trying to figure out what sort of magics suit me and what doesn’t, but this is one place to look a bit deeper, and see what I find that works.

I’m sort of appreciating this little period of stillness, though. A pause at the crossroads, though with far less uncertainty and direction than I’ve previously experienced. It feels like a moment to take stock, and decide what I want to do in my own time. I’ve got some paid work lined up for July, and that’ll keep me working pretty much fulltime, between that and the op shop, so I’m almost tempted to wait until that’s over and decide then, once I know if this paid job might lead to something more permanent or not. Until then, I might just keep up the basic daily routine, and anything else I feel I need to do, and take it easy. Maybe focus on DP stuff, if I’m not going to do anything else for a while. Anyway. I hope you had a good Solstice, if you marked it in anyway. I certainly did.

One comment on “Happy Solstice!

Leave a Reply

