Trans Rite Preparations

Trans Rite of Elevation shrine

I’ve spent the last two days putting the shrine together. It’s sitting on my desk this year, rather than my ancestor shrine, because I am not keen on setting things on fire so. Not having use of my desk for nine days is hardly suffering in the grand scheme of things, and I have all the laptops anyway, so it’s not a problem. Of course, all the stuff that was on the tables and windowsill has been displaced, and it’s all over the rest of my room. But I like what I’ve done this year.

It’s a bit of an awkward spot, tbh, because of the curtains, so the photos will have to be laid down flat, and some of the other things moved out of the way, so I don’t wreck the shrine with my curtains. But I think I’m happier with this one. I might still tweak it a bit before I begin, but that’s basically it.

I got the bandannas, the brown pot, and the white taper candles at the back, from the op shop I work at. The rest is my own stuff. And I wanted to have my rainbow boa somewhere, so it’s hanging from my curtain rail. I’ve also got a bi pride bracelet thing (on the bottom right), because of course.

Anyway. BRB figuring out my ritual structure for the elevation, so I can start on time this year, rather than a day late. At this stage, the only prayers I’m thinking of using are the Lamentations I posted yesterday, and perhaps PSVL’s Antinous prayer I used last year. I will also try to record every day this year, rather than just two, like I did last year. Anyway. Expect lots of posting or something. IDK.

Leave a Reply

