Skipping tonight’s elevation rite

Menstruation is a bitch. Turned up during the middle of the day. Because of course it did. Good thing I was prepared.

I’ve already closed up Sobek and Heru’s shrine for tonight. I won’t do my daily devotions tomorrow. It’s not a big deal. This is just one of those protocols we’ve developed. I don’t go to shrine on the first day of my period; it’s a self-care thing. After that, I don’t touch any statuary until I’m done bleeding. So no washing Heru’s statue. But it’s alright. It’s a way to manage it that means I can minimise the time I’m away from shrine and not break my daily devotion habits.

As for tonight, I consulted the runes to see if I should do tonight’s elevation rite. I use the Saxon runes, because Woden idk.

I first asked if I should do tonight’s ritual, and I drew Thorn. Definitely a ‘well, you could, I guess, but I’m not sure that’s such a great idea’ vibe. So that’s a no, then.

Then I asked if I should complete the nine days anyway, and I drew Rad. Bring it home, you can’t stop now. So that’s a yes, then.

I’ll check tomorrow to see if I should proceed or not or if they want me to wait another day. One way or another, all nine days will be completed. They just won’t be consecutive days. But that’s alright. It just means more writing time for me tonight. 😀

Leave a Reply

