Thorn. Again.

Well. I guess that’s the trans* elevation rite done for this year. I pulled Thorn yesterday when I checked my runes to see if I should do the elevation rite yesterday, and when I asked again today whether I should keep going and finish the rite during the next week, I pulled Thorn. Again. So.

I may still do something small for the Trans Day of Remembrance, but it’ll probably be fairly simple. Offering water, lighting incense, reciting the names, etc. But I won’t continue with the elevation rite.

I’d been contemplating it all day, and I had a niggling sense that I should probably stop. General purity issues aside, I just wasn’t sure it was worth continuing this particular ritual, for this particular set of ancestors, while I was menstruating. It felt potentially triggering to those spirits I was trying to help; whether this would be the case, I don’t know, but better safe than sorry.

I’ve moved the shrine to my ancestor shrine. I’ll do any TDOR stuff there. I’ll also check beforehand if they want me to do anything, just to be on the safe side. We’ll try again next year and see if my body behaves.

Leave a Reply

