Transition

I have to say, I’m still settling into the routine of having Isis back in my daily devotions again. Honouring two gods is easy, you do morning and evening, and it’s fine. Adding a third, well. That’s a bit tricky. Particularly when I know the timing for any specific ritual is awkward because I don’t feel like I can do it at work, and finding another way to integrate it into my daily routine has proved, well. I have had mixed results. I’m sorry to keep banging on about this, but it’s a big change for me, and there’s a whole lotta pondering going on. So you’ll forgive me for rambling about it some more.

I promise no more shrine photos until everything’s settled. Because I changed it up again today, and toyed with removing the naos completely, and, well. I’m going to let it sit for a while, and see how well everyone likes it, before I decide to keep it. But once things are settled, there will definitely be a post on that. The only reason I even changed it up today was that I was doing some DP homework on ancestors, and thought of the Mysteries of Wesir, and how I was going to set up a shrine for that, and once I moved Wesir to the centre of the shrine, now sans naos, well. He wasn’t keen to leave. And Isis now sits before Him, and Sobek and Heru surround Him, protecting Him. But like I said, I haven’t settled on it yet, and it may change again as I use it and tinker with it so it suits my rituals perfectly.

Making room for other gods, even related gods, on the Shedety shrine, has changed the feel of it. It’s no longer just Sobek and Heru’s shrine, Wesir and Isis are there, too. Which is why I am toying with not having the naos, because it was originally dedicated to two gods, and it’s not really designed for four. But I’m still pondering that. I may bring it back if this doesn’t work out. Maybe I’ll find a new naos later on, but for now, perhaps it isn’t needed. We’ll see.

I feel a bit guilt for talking about shrines so much, but they are so important, particularly when things have been shaken up like this. It’s not an unexpected thing. It’s not like Wesir and Isis don’t fit on the shrine. But it changes its purpose, and its energy, and if it has to be set up for three particular daily devotions, well. That requires some thought about how to integrate them all properly. I’ve been pondering this ever since Isis asked for daily devotions, and I still don’t quite have a set routine yet.

I do have a few things in mind. I started saying that old (Kemetic version of the) Prayer of Awakening to Isis from ‘The Mysteries of Isis’ book as I was opening the naos, because I know the prayer so well, and using it to begin my morning rituals. After some thought, I bodged together an evening prayer using the same prayer, but changing out ‘awake’ and ‘rise’ for ‘rest’ and ‘descend’. I basically searched a hieroglyph dictionary until I found words that fit the rhythm. I guess my bodged evening hymn is just as bodged together as the rest of the kemetic version, but familiarity is really important for my daily rituals, and easy memorisation, so I’m going to try using the two prayers to begin my morning and evening devotions.

The current sketchy plan involves the morning/evening Isis prayer, and then offering incense, then following the morning/evening devotions as normal, so there’s still a space to give Isis Her due, and not just recite prayers and move on. I’m also pondering actually lifting/setting down Her statue, but we’ll see how practical that is when I actually try it during devotions. I’ve got some of the lotus Morning Star incense coming in the post, because old habits die hard, so we’ll see how well that goes with the other Japanese incense I’ve got. I’ll burn myrrh for Her until it arrives.

Not that I’ve done devotions for the past couple of days. I’ve got a cold, which is annoying af, and I’ve not had the brain power to really do my devotions properly. Besides, I’m not always good at self-care when I’m sick. Most of the time, I don’t feel sick enough to just rest, and so I work through it anyway. I did that last year when I had a mild ear infection. I just worked through it. Because when you’re on fixed term contracts, there’s not really space to take time off because of illness. So I didn’t. I think I had, like, one day off, when my hearing was shot. But that was it. I worked the rest of the time.

So I’ve been giving myself permission to just veg out and take care of myself. I’ve been rewatching Buffy, and I’m currently 4 eps into season 2. It’s been a long time since I watched Buffy, and it’s nice to watch it again. Some of the episodes are so familiar I can pick out things I may not have caught the first time round. What also strikes me about it is its humanity. It’s not always just fight the big bad and move on. There’s depth, and reasons, and consequences. And I don’t think I really paid attention to that when I was younger. But I see it now, and I appreciate it. And I still love it, even after all these years. So I am going to enjoy working my way through it all again, even when things go bad, and weird, and not always great, as they sometimes got in the later series. But then, I haven’t watched it for so long that I don’t know whether I will still feel the same way about them now as I did then. So we’ll see. But that’s for posting elsewhere.

Anyway. I wanted to write something about this transition, because it is significant to me, but I wanted to avoid another ‘look at my shrine!’ post, because I feel like I’ve done too many of those lately. That, and I feel like I’m still figuring out the best way to do this, so once things settle down into habit, maybe I’ll share something more then. For now, I am going to leave this here, and do some more work.

Leave a Reply

