Sobek devotional outline – now taking requests!

Hello! So I have been working on a possible sketchy draft outline for what I might include in this Sobek devotional. I want it to be more than just a collection of prayers and rituals. I want it to include things like, how to build a relationship with Him, and how to even build a regional cultus when all you have is one book, and a sketchy handful of articles. Something that explores and talks about how I built my practice up to where it is now.

IDK if that’s of any interest to anyone else, but IDK if there’s much else available for anyone else looking to build regional cultus, and even just to build a relationship with Sobek. And I keep talking about Sobek, like it’s just Him, but it’s really not. It’s Sobek and Heru and Isis and Renenutet and Wesir and Nit and it’s all a bit messy. On which, more later.

And, tbh, if I’m going to write a book like that, I feel like I should make sure I’m including all the things people would actually find useful? I’m never entirely sure what people want to know about worshipping Sobek until they ask, with the general exceptions of ‘how do I even start’ and ‘offerings???’, so getting any feedback on that would be great.

I’ll put my draft, definitely not set in stone, outline below the cut. Feel free to make suggestions or tear it apart or whatever. And feel free to pass it on to interested parties, if you know of anyone who’d be interested in a Sobek devotional like this. I may also put in a final section for other people’s devotional works, if that even wants to be a thing, just because, well. Other people worship Sobek as well, and this might be easier than trying to crowd-source enough material for an entire devotional anthology without resorting to filling half of it with my own stuff. But like I said, so much of this is a sketchy draft outline and honing it down into something I can begin to work on is the next step.

Table Of Contents: (outline, draft)
Introduction/preface/idk

My history with Sobek
Sobek and Heru
Other gods in my practice idk
Service and priesthood

Theory
Sobek’s cult, and His importance in Shedet
Temples and cultus
Sobek and Heru
Sobek and Heru and Aset-Renenutet
Festivals and holy days – calendar and WoTY
Epithets etc?

Developing a regional cultus
Source material and its limitations
The creation of myth and ritual
The importance of UPG, Discernment, and trusting your instincts
Cosmology
Syncretism
What practice looks like

Making Myths
How Sobek and Heru created the universe
Sobek as protector of Aset and Heru
Sobek as Heru, avenging His father Wesir
Sobek as Heru’s consort

Practice
Making the connection
Simple rituals
Offering lists
Prayer beads
The importance of record keeping
Meditation
Divination

Building a shrine
Altar or shrine?
Do you need a naos? No, you don’t
Tools and equipment
Statuary
Temple rites are not mandatory

Daily rituals
Morning and evening devotions
A simple rite of offering
Adorations

Seasonal festivals
The solstices and the equinoxes
The birthday of Sobek
The Mysteries of Wesir

Hymns and prayers

Other Devotions idk

Appendix:
Full list of epithets
Sources
Idek

IDK, I have never put together a book like this before, and I’m hardly someone who has any experience teaching things to others. But idk this feels like the sort of book it needs to be, and any help shaping into something great and useful at this initial stage will be greatly appreciated. Arguably, it’s probably easier to make a better book if I can get the outline sorted, so I don’t waste time writing things that aren’t as useful to people. But maybe that’s just me idk.

I don’t really want it to be a straight Kemetic 101 book, but at the same time, it should have rituals and practices and advice for those who are seeking Sobek, because I’ve corresponded with a number of people about that, and having a concrete resource that puts it all together I feel would be really useful? But idk. If you have any better ideas, throw them my way. 🙂

16 comments on “Sobek devotional outline – now taking requests!

  1. First time seeing anything about this, but now I’m really excited. Spiritually I’ve been in a sort of huge lull, not sure what to do with myself after not being part of a temple or such, and not sure how to go forward with that. While yeah, a Kemetic 101 book would be super awesome, I think most of that can be glossed over unless information on the subject is difficult to find. I do think this outline looks good as is right now. If I end up figuring out how to practice on my own again before you finish this, I might want to contribute something, since I also worship Sobek.

    Oh! A good article about Sobek-Ra and associations with Amun would be great, because I simply cannot get my head around that entire….thing.

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Yeah, I’ll cover Sobek and His syncretisations, but don’t expect much insight from me. Djehuty once dropped, ‘Sobek is Amun is Ra is Ptah is Wesir’ on me, and years later, it still makes my head hurt. Ow. o.O

      I … sort of have an idea about the connections, but I don’t really work with Sobek-Ra, so it’s a bit iffy on my end. Academically, it’s not that hard. Sobek-Ra is Sobek as Ra, so Sobek-Ra’s connection to Amun is probably going to be similar. I believe Sobek-Ra is much more solar and Ra-like than Sobek, so I assume there’s a bright sun-hidden shadow sort of Sobek-Ra/Amun thing going on. But experientially, I honestly don’t know. Sobek as Heru-sa-Aset breaks my brain enough as it is, and that one makes less logical sense.

      The reasons why I don’t really want to do a bog standard Kemetic 101 is because those exist, and I want this to be focused on Sobek. Particularly because His cult in the Faiyum isn’t as well-known as the Kom Ombo one. Sobek is different in the Faiyum. He’s not syncretised with Heru-sa-Aset anywhere else, which is why I think it’s important to document this particular regional cultus and how bringing it to life in a modern way is a useful thing to do. The way I do things is not particularly Kemetic in many ways, particularly because I don’t use the calendar, but adapting a regional cultus to your place is not always easy to do, particularly if you’re in the southern hemisphere like I am. Southern hemisphere pagan books are not exactly common. There are a lot of holes to fill when it comes to Sobek’s Faiyum cultus anyway, so it’s never going to be completely authentic. Sometimes, you have to make things up to make it work. And I don’t see that talked about often enough in Kemetic circles.

      When the book’s further along, I’ll definitely be putting out calls for submissions, if there’s room for it, and you’d be welcome to submit something. Having different perspectives on Sobek is always good to have, because my Sobek is probably not your Sobek, and you can always learn from how others see the same god, I think.

  2. I tend to find syncretization difficult in general. For example, I worship Sokar/Seker. Not Sokar-Wesir, or Ptah-Sokar-Wesir. Just Sokar. Which logically doesn’t really make sense based on the history (as far as I know), but meh. There’s connections, but I don’t worship with the whole ‘Amun-Sokar is Sokar-Wesir is Amun-Sokar-Wesir’ in mind, if that makes sense. Not saying it’s not there, but it’s not my focus.

    Sobek-Ra being Sobek as Ra is one way I haven’t heard it put, but that’s probably because I find it pretty hard to retain info from books and such, so my academic knowledge is very sparse and I have to rely on UPG a lot.

    Honestly, adapting a regional cultus is something I would be very interested in. How to approach it and such, since I don’t follow the calendar either. ‘Making things up’ is also a great topic. I think the idea of writing new myths like you’ve done is pretty great.

    Awesome. If it’d be open to art stuff, I’d be willing to toss some of that your way as well. 🙂

    • Sashataakheru says:

      I think, in a lot of cases, it helps to think about syncretisations as job titles. Sobek-Ra, Sobek as Ra, is Sobek doing Ra’s job. So of course there are connections there with Amun that don’t exist when Sobek is just being Sobek.

      I don’t see a problem with just worshipping Sokar, though. I think Kemetic Orthodox stresses the aspected and syncretised gods a little too much, and it can distort perceptions and appearances for those of us who either don’t subscribe to that view, or who experience the gods differently. Isis was always Isis for me, not Isis-Serqet. Wesir is just Wesir. But I think it comes down to how the gods choose to show themselves to you. If you just see Sokar, you just see Sokar, and that’s fine.

      I still get a headache when I think about Sobek-Heru, though. I can’t imagine one without the other, but where one stops and the other ends, I honestly couldn’t tell you. Hence, I often just use Sobek to mean Sobek-Heru, and somehow it makes sense. If I think about it too hard, I, well. I end up nowhere with a sore head.

      I think the right balance of academic backing, discernment, and UPG, can work best. UPG is fine, and important for practice, but unless you have the academic references to know when things are not quite right, then you can end up too far into ‘making stuff up land’. Relying too heavily on books, on the other hand, can leave you so focused on recreating exactly the right way to do things that you miss the experience of just practicing, and trying things out. Good discernment bridges the gap between research and experience. If you’ve got that, you’ll be fine.

      Developing regional cultus is not something I knew much about when I started, that’s for sure. Most Kemetics don’t really run across it, because they mostly work with the major pantheon anyway. But working with a locaised version of a god is very much a trial and error sort of thing, particularly when so much of Sobek’s cult has been lost. Patching the gaps becomes inevitable to make something that actually works. I can’t say I have all the answers, either, but perhaps my experience is at least a useful example for others to build off. You can only do so much with some epithets, and fragmented hymns and ritual texts, after all. So that’s definitely all going in, and I’m glad it’s of interest to someone, at least.

      Well, I’m going to see if I can throw some of my art in along the way, so feel free to make some art, too. That would be great. 🙂

  3. kiya_nicoll says:

    Outlines are lovely things. (I spent several years chewing on my current book before I got an outline that let me make progress with it.)

    I think you’ve got a good start there. And you’ll likely discover that as you work on it, you’ll find a place where you go, “OH WHOA, I NEED TO WRITE A SECTION ON….” Or as you read other things – your post the other day sparked an “I need to add a section on this to the book” for me actually. (I need to get back to knuckling down and working on the book properly, meh.)

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Well, I mostly wanted somewhere to start, so I could actually start putting it together, and working on sections as I go. Otherwise, it’d just be a threatening blank document, and that’s not the way to go. But I’m going to take my time with it anyway, and I expect that’ll give it time to grow and evolve and the outline will change. But that’s fine. I’d be worried, to be honest, if it didn’t change. I’m glad I could inspire you as well. I’ve got a lot of thinky thoughts running around my head lately. It’s nice that it’s not just me talking into the aether.

  4. jewelofaset says:

    That looks good to me so far. Um, do you need my list of Sobek Festivals for this book? And also did you want the entire calendar from Soknopaiou Nesos (there are Aset Festivals from it and the 13 day Rhodophoria).

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Both of those things would be great, thanks, with the sources they came from, so I can at least reference that. I don’t want it to be an academic book, but I do want to cite my sources when I use them.

  5. C. says:

    All of this sounds absolutely gorgeous. I admit the slightly 101-ish parts interest me, because I’ve been called to follow Him but I really don’t have any Kemetic background, but of course it should focus primarily on Him.

    I’m also looking forward to reading the Sobek-Heru stuff, and seeing what I make of that. I haven’t encountered Heru personally myself, so figuring out where He stands in my devotion and cosmology, if at all, would be a boon.

    Devotions and adorations and prayers and hymns are all things I crave. I can make my own, but my practice is richer when I can draw on other people’s, when I can get insights into different angles to view Him from. I used to do things with prayer beads, and I’d love to know more about how I can tie that in with my Sobek-worship. And… yes. Just, all of your outline makes me want every scrap of this that I can get. There’s so little out there, and I want to feast on knowledge of Him.

    Thank you for taking the time and energy to put this together for us, and praise to Sobek for making it all possible.

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Thanks for your feedback. I do plan on some sort of 101-ish stuff, but I don’t want that to be the whole book, and, quite frankly, other people do that better than I can, so I will probably throw in a list of resources, books, etc for more comprehensive Kemetic 101 stuff. I don’t know if I was ever enough of a proper Kemetic recon to have taken in enough of the concepts to teach a basic Kemetic 101 course anyway, since so much of my path has been god-driven. It changes your priorities.

      I can’t say the Sobek-Heru stuff will resonate with everyone, but it’s part of who They are with me, and I can’t not cover it. It’s a different Sobek-Heru dynamic than the one in Kom Ombo, but i makes a lot of sense to me in its own way. There’ll probably be a lot of musings on these things as I write them in the book that I’ll post here, so you may get a bit of an insight before it’s finished. But yeah, if it resonates, awesome. if it doesn’t, it’s not a problem. Sobek is big enough to cope with that. 🙂

      The lack of information and how to worship stuff is mostly why I want to put this together, because some people just need some ideas to get them started. A basic ritual, perhaps, and some hymns or prayers, something they can start with as they build that relationship. And devotional material is always good for getting to know a god, and hopefully, I’ll get some good outside perspectives to add to mine, to make the book feel more complete. I’ve been making prayer beads for ages, and while I mostly just hold mine in ritual, you can use them with adorations, and with set prayers. I might try to write a set prayer for some beads, and see where that goes. Maybe make some beads to go with it to sell in my Etsy store. IDK. Maybe it’ll be something with His epithets. Hmm.

      Anyway, thanks for your enthusiasm, and I hope you can at least utilise the resources I’ve got available on the website for the time being, until the book’s complete. A lot of what’s here will be in the book, so go for your life. 🙂

      • C. says:

        I’d personally love a set of beads with a prayer to go with them! I’ve seen your carnelian and lapis beads for Sobek in your store and have been tempted, but also feel like I’d make use of them best with a set prayer to go with them, at least at first. So you’d definitely have one customer. 🙂

        • Sashataakheru says:

          Well, it’s something I’ve been thinking about, but haven’t really got around to organising yet, because it involves design and printing and it’s a bit more complicated than just making beads. (I would hand-write them, but, no, you don’t want to have to deal with my shoddy handwriting. So printing it is.) But I was bored enough this morning at work to draft up a prayer for Sobek, following the morning-noon-evening-night sequence. I suspect I might need to make it longer, because 28 beads might be too short to handle comfortably. (To give you an indicatiohn, the beads I use for Sobek and Heru have 45 beads in them plus the tail/charm bit, and I find that long enough to handle without it getting in the way, so.) I’ll have to play around with it to see if I can find something that works. Maybe I’ll double it to 52, so there’s two beads for each hour of the day and night, and the four time markers. IDK. We’ll see.

          Of course, there’s always the adorations, but those are more like mantras you chant, rather than a structured prayer. Though they are easier to write, because you just repeat ‘I adore you, $epithet’ until you get bored, or run out of epithets, whichever comes first. I’ll probably still do some adorations sets at some point, though, because they are still useful if you’re looking for something more meditative and repetitive.

          But yes, I am definitely on to it, once I figure things out, like design and size, and cost, and other stuff like that. Whether it’s better to get, say, a batch of 100, or just make a handful myself when I need them idk. And how to design the beads to go with the prayers. All that sort of thing. So I’m glad to see there’s some interest in this sort of thing, which encourages me to get stuck into it and make something that’s going to work.

  6. […] at this point. Same goes for the Anubis devotional, I really hope all of these books happen. I saw this one for Sobek so that’s pretty damn awesome […]

  7. A little section on how the Egyptians thought of crocodiles might be useful. I don’t know if that would be included with explaining Sobek’s nature as a Deity, but historical context definitely helps me.

    • Sashataakheru says:

      It certainly can be done. In addition to the book I want to write, I’m also down for editing a Sobek devotional through Bibliotheca Alexandrina in the latter part of the year, so that may creep into that book as well. Which is good, because I will need time to Do Scholarly Stuff between now and then. I have a list of things I need to chase up.

Leave a Reply

