I have been making all the beads

Apparently it is prayer bead making season. I’ve made all of the above over the past fortnight or so. Which is good, I guess, because I sort of felt like I’d been making all the other things, and didn’t have enough prayer beads around. So I made some. Quite a lot.

The left photo shows prayer beads for Poseidon, Mars the Centurion, Hephaistos, the Dark Goddess (whoever She is), two for Isis, two for Heru, and one for Sobek. The set for Mars followed His guidelines for it. It had to have 100 beads for 100 soldiers, plus one for Himself as their centurion, and the red tassle, which echoed the helmet of a Roman soldier. Poseidon’s set was made with the sense of capturing the colours of the stormy sea; it has an unofficial title of the Rage of Poseidon.

The set made for the Dark Goddess wasn’t a set I was planning to make, but I found the beads all together in a little bag in my bead box, and wondered who I’d planned to make it for onceuponatime. I decided to string them anyway and not waste them, and the energy I got suggested a name of The Dark Goddess, whoever She is. She may be Hekate, or Kali, or the Morrigan, or some sort of darker death deity energy like that. I have no idea who. But that’s the perception I got as I was making it.

The second photo shows some of the more recent creations. With the exception of the rose quartz set, the other beads are for Sobek. The rose quartz beads were guided by Hekate; She said it is a set for healing, love, and peace. It is made with rose quartz and amethyst.

The other sets for Sobek are experiments, playing around with structures that could be used for a set prayer. I had a request for something like this over at Per Sebek, and thought I’d have a go and see what I could come up with. I wrote a prayer that might be used with the beads last week, and this was me trying to design some beads to go with it. I think I’ll refrain from listing those Sobek beads just yet, while I iron out the kinks in the prayer and how to use them, but they will turn up eventually. I want to spend some time using them myself, just to see how well it works, and figure out the best way to format the prayer, and make any tweaks to it, before I decide how I’m going to include it, and print it it out. I’ll probably post some more about that as I work on it, but that’s the plan, to have a set of beads for Sobek that go with a set prayer, if that’s the sort of thing you work well with.

Anyway, I have more things to do, and I want to get some of those beads listed this weekend, just so they’re up. I have a few things to retake photos of, but other than that, it’s a matter of sitting down and getting the work done.

Leave a Reply

