A song for Isis, Warrior Queen

I’ve associated this song with Isis for a long time now. Perhaps not an obvious choice for some, but listen to it. To me, this is Isis as grieving wife and mother, Isis seeking vengeance and justice. Isis who fights for Heru, for Wesir, because She must, because there is no one else. Isis as warrior Queen. It’s not Sekhmet’s rage; this is Isis’ rage. That’s what it’s always felt like to me. It’s that female vocal in the middle. At some point, it became Isis, and the association has stuck. It’s become Her song.

I’m sharing it now for no other reason than it was the last song that played on my way home, and I saw Her fighting, I saw Her defending and protecting Heru. She was present with me, showing Her power. Perhaps it won’t resonate with you. Perhaps it will. But this is my Isis just as much as this statue is my Isis. She is fierce, and powerful, and you cross Her children at your peril. She will defend the throne with everything She has, and She will win, because She must.

Whatever else this song is, and it is a lot of things, it is for Isis the avenger. Isis who won’t stand back while Wesir is taken from Her. She can’t stop it happening, but She will smack some bitches to get back the throne for Heru. She will, because She is mother and Queen, and She is Isis. You wound Her at your peril. This is what this song embodies for me. It gives me strength and courage. I am Isis who fights back. She is greater than Her long suffering. She is the throne. She is established in Ma’at forever. Dua Isis! Nekhtet!

Leave a Reply

