An Isis dream

I know I don’t normally share my dreams, but this one was interesting in a lot of different ways, so I thought I’d share it. I dreamt I was in some museum-y/new agey shop, half-looking for a statue of Hekate, which I don’t find. Lots of Demeter and Persephone, but no Hekate. It was more of an ‘I wonder if it’s there’ more than an ‘I need to find it!’ sort of search. I was pondering how to do my altar for the Rite of Her Sacred Fires tomorrow, and pondering statuary, but in so many ways, looking for Hekate and finding Isis isn’t even a surprise anymore. It may have just been a useful segue idk.

As I walk around the shop, I see pendulums, and there are other Pagan-y/magical things, and a lot of crystals. I remember walking around for a while until I came to a room with a large rotating display table. There wasn’t much of interest there – bronze-tone statuary and shells – until I saw a statue of Isis, one I’d never seen before. I still have a very clear image of Her in my head, so bear with me while I describe it in detail.

She was made from creamy-white resin, with gold-leaf accents, about 9in tall, and quite long, but I didn’t measure. She was in the classical smiting pose, though She wasn’t grasping anyone. She wore the armour of a warrior, with Her solar-disk-and-cow-horns headdress. In Her left hand, a snake had wound itself around Her arm, and its head was resting on the top of Her fingers; Her hand was almost in a ‘stop!’ position, held in front of Her. In Her right hand, held behind Her with an outstretched arm, She held the crook and the flail, and these were done with both gold leaf, and shinybright blue accents. At Her feet, a much larger cobra was by Her side, and She stood on a pile of sand and rock and rubble. She basically looked terrifying. (And the sticker on the base of the statue said She was only $20. I wish!)

As I held the statue, She wasn’t just a statue anymore. She was on a battlefield, with dark skies all around, and the cobra was breathing fire at anyone who got in Her way. There was a battle cry, and a charge, and I could just feel the anger and grief burning from Her. I feel like it lasted longer than it really did, but it was a flash of a vision and then it was gone, and then I’m walking around the shop with this statue, knowing She’s coming home with me.

I may have to draw Her at some point, just to illustrate what I saw. I’m still parsing through it, but it’s still vivid in my head now. If anyone wants me, I’ll be over here, trying to figure out if there’s some Renenutet going on, or if it’s just Isis, or Isis-Hekate, or something else I haven’t thought of yet.

3 comments on “An Isis dream

  1. jewelofaset says:

    Wonderful dream! I wrote a poem not too long ago with Aset using storms to express her rage and anguish over Wesir. Anyway, there is an image of Her with a circlet of serpents, a sundisk/horn crown, a uraeus, the vulture headdress and she holds a sistrum. This image is from the Temple of Karnak, iirc. Your dream statue image of Her made me think of that. Also, Weret Hekau can be depicted as a snake-headed goddess. Anyway, awesome dream! I’d love to see your painting/drawing of Her!

  2. Edward P. Butler says:

    That’s the stuff.

  3. […] is based on the dream I wrote about previously. I felt an urge to begin drawing Her this afternoon, and this is what […]

Leave a Reply

