My portable magic kit

This is going to be a quick post before bed, but I’ve been using this kit now for a month and it feels like it’s time to show it off. I found the wallet at the op shop/thrift shop I work at, and at first, I thought it might make a good portable art kit, so I could draw while I was out, or at the shop or something, but after three weeks of it sitting in my bag, I had a better idea.

There was a particular thing that happened that made me want to have some sort of magical things with me, but I won’t go into details about that. Suffice it to say, this kit is all about protection, cleansing, and banishing, since that’s what I’ve had the most call to use.

The contents are pretty simple. I have two notebooks that I cut to size, and stitched together, where I can write notes or use it for spellwork if I have no other paper to hand. I have five coloured pencils, two lead pencils, and a black pen. I have an eraser (for banishing as well as practical uses), and a sharpener (for focus). There are two train tickets (the yellow pieces of card) that I use as a travel talisman as much as anything else. There is some black cord for binding. A pentacle pendant for an altar tile. A mirror. A pair of d6 dice I use for divination. A vial of frankincense oil. A nail. Finally, six vials containing white salt, black salt, sage, rosemary, hot foot powder, and a purifying herb mix.

There’s only a couple of things I still need to add: replace the black cord with three smaller skeins of red, white, and black thread, and print out a cheat sheet of my dice divination meanings. But other than that, it’s as complete as it’s going to be.

I’ve played around with travel altar kits for a long time, but I’ve never really found them particularly useful. But this seems to do the trick. It’s small enough to fit in my backpack, so I can take it with me all the time, and it’s discreet. I can take it out to lunch with me and write in my notebook, or put together an impromptu healing spell, and it’s fine. Anything more complex is going to get done at home, and since it’s not about deity devotion, but magic, it can be much more tightly focused, and have such small and useful things.

Anyway, it’s time for bed, so I’ll leave this here. If anyone else has a kit like this, I’d love to see them.

Leave a Reply

