A List of Heru-sa-Aset festivals

This is what happens on a not-very-exciting day when I have a shiny Ancient Egyptian Daybook to trawl through. I attempt to make a list of just Heru-sa-Aset festivals. This is a somewhat more taxing task than just listing all the Heru ones, because Heru is fkn complicated.

So. I won’t claim this is in any way complete, because sorting out the Heru-sa references from the Heru-Wer references is a job that only ends in a headache for me, so. I have probably missed a few, and included some I probably shouldn’t have, but if you think you can do a better job than me, go for your life.

A CAVEAT: this list is based on my UPG!assumption that Heru-sa and Heru-wer are different gods. Okay, not that. How about, different gods with different mythological roles in the calendar year? Yeah. That’s probably a better descriptor. I mean, it’s clear enough to a certain extent: Heru-sa does the Wesir stuff, Heru-Wer does the Hethert and Heavenly stuff, as a broad, general sort of thing.

But that’s about the extent to which I can tell them apart, and some references are just ambiguous, and it’s not clear to me which Heru it means. There’s been a certain amount of guesswork and ‘does it feel like Heru-Wer?’ as I’ve made my way through the festival list. So this is a more conservative list than it might otherwise be. If I’m not sure, I tended to leave it out.

Also, I referenced the Heru-sa festivals Chelsea posted here, and slipped those in, too. The more the merrier, etc. So that’s where I’m working from in terms of which festivals I included, and which ones I left out.

Also, I have thrown in generic!Heru references (where it isn’t specified WHICH Heru it means), just because, why not. And, IDK, I’ve always felt Heru-sa made more sense for the end of month ‘House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru’ reference, but maybe that’s just me. He fits better with that, tbqh. So that’s why that’s listed. (I completely adore that ‘House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru’ reference, jsyk, I have no idea why.)

(And just had a thought of turning that into a structure for a tripartite Kemetic household shrine, with all three of Them represented in Their own little houses.) (Gods, I do NOT have room for more shrines! Stop it!)(Even though that is a really cool idea and I want to have a go at setting it up.)(Like, Bast could sit with Ra, Anubis could sit with Wesir, and Taweret and Bes with Heru. I DON’T KNOW WHY THIS MAKES SENSE TO ME. BUT I LIKE IT AS A CONCEPT.)(You could have Heru-pa-khered/Harpokrates and then Bes and Taweret with Him make even moar sense omg.)(Like, the Baby!Heru who stands on the backs of crocodiles and is killing sneks. That bb!Heru!)(And now I want to write an end-of-the-month ritual for Them WTF ISN’T KEEPING THE DEIPNON ENOUGH WTF.) (*drowns in rituals*)(*considers modding it for noumenia*)(*wonders how that would even work*)(*gets stuck pondering Kemetic household religion again*)

*ahem*

Anyway. I do find it interesting (and within my own experiences) that He basically disappears from the calendar during IV Akhet when the Mysteries of Wesir are happening. I usually never bother Him during that time, He’s usually busy elsewhere in the Duat with Wesir and Aset, which is my UPG!justification for including Heru-in-the-Duat references.

IV Peret (His birth) and IV Shomu (as God over the month) also seem to be Big Heru-sa Months, which will be interesting to work with. There’s a bit of bleedthrough into the next month, but I still find that interesting, that He seems to be at that place of endings and beginnings, where one season turns into another. (I have way too many liminal gods in my life plz maek it stop.) That feels like an interesting rhythm to the year, and I’m curious about how that’s going to play out as I follow the calendar. Heru-sa seems to be cyclical, and I find that very interesting. I want to dig deeper into that, and see what I find. I suspect it might be a Moon Thing, but IDK.

Of course, my next job involves compiling ALL the Mysteries of Wesir stuff, if only for my own interest, since it’s probably the most important holiday in my ritual year, save only for Wep Ronpet, so. I am interested to see how that all looks once it’s separated from the rest of the festivals, and what that might do to change the way I mark it.

So much of this process of making lists of gods festivals is because of the Shedety daybook I’m working on. It’s isolating all the relevant gods and Their festivals and making something coherent that makes sense for what I’m trying to do. I’m sticking to Sobek, Heru-sa, Aset, and Wesir for the moment, because that feels like more than enough in terms of festivals, though I will also do Renenutet bc of Aset, and She’s important for Faiyum reasons. But that’s it, for now.

Anyway, enough of my babble, on to the festival list!

Heru-sa-Aset Festivals and Holy Days
I Akhet
1. Kronokrator: Heru
4. Kronokrator: Heru
5. Kronokrator: Heru; Feast of Behdety/Heru Shedety?
7. Kronokrator: Heru
13. Feast of Heru, Lord of Mendes
15. Day of Unknown Rage in the Duat (Heru and Set fighting)
25. Kronokrator: Heru
26. Day of Heru-sa-Aset’s fighting with Set
27. Peace Between Heru and Set
30. Counting Up The Offerings to Heru-pa-khered, Ruler of Thrones; House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

II Akhet
1. Guarding the Eye of Heru/Jubliation of the Great Nine
2. Birthday of Heru-sa-Aset
7. Kronokrator: The Red Crown/Eye of Heru; Feast of the Eye of Heru/The Red One (the Red Crown)
14. Heru Receives the White Crown
16. Kronokrator: The Red Crown/Eye of Heru; Feast of the Eye of Heru
20. Kronokrator: Heru-sa-Aset, Heru-sa-Aset and Set (together), Heru the Great; Feast of Heru-sa-Aset and Set
27. Kronokrator: Heru, Lord of Athribis
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

III Akhet
1. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset
15. Kronokrator: Heru
24. Heru Welcomes the Nile
25. Heru Welcomes the Nile
26. Heru Welcomes the Nile
27. Heru Welcomes the Nile
28. Heru Welcomes the Nile
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

IV Akhet (the month of the Mysteries of Wesir)
14. Kronokrator: Heru
23. Kronokrator: Heru-sa-Aset
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

I Peret
1. Feast of the Coronation
2. Kronokrator: Heru of the Duat; Feast of the Coronation
3. Feast of the Coronation; Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset; Appearance of Heru, Chief of the Great Throne
4. Kronokrator: Heru-sa-Aset; Feast of the Coronation; Procession of Heru of the Beautiful Upper Egyptian Barley (Heru-shema-nefer)
5. Kronokrator: Heru of the Duat;
11. Kronokrator: Heru (var. Heru Lord of Cool Water); Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
12. Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
14. Kronokrator: Heru Who Loves His Mother; Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
15. Kronokrator: Heru Who Carries His Mother
16. Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
17. Feast of Meshenet (harpooners) for the Followers of Heru
18. Kronokrator: Heru, Great of Magic
19. Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

II Peret
1. Appearance of Heru
14. Festival of Heru-sa-Aset/Harpokratia
15. Kronokrator: Heru, Beautiful-in-Strength (var. Beautiful-in-Strength, son of Aset)
18. Kronokrator: Heru
19. Kronokrator: Heru
25. Kronokrator: Heru (epithet damaged)
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

III Peret
3. Kronokrator: Heru
5. Kronokrator: Heru Great of Magic; Feast of Heru (epithet lost)
6. Kronokrator: Heru
23. Kronokrator: Heru-sa-Aset
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

IV Peret
1. Feast of Heru and the Eye of Heru
2. Kronokrator: Heru
3. Kronokrator: Heru Who Carries His Mother
4. Kronokrator: Heru
5. Kronokrator: Heru
6. Kronokrator: Heru
12. Kronokrator: Heru Who Carries His Mother
14. Kronokrator: Heru
15. Kronokrator: Heru
20. Kronokrator: Heru Who Comes From The Delta
25. Kronokrator: Heru
26. Kronokrator: Heru Who Is In The Great Sanctuary
28. Procession of Heru-sa-Aset and Heka-the-Child
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

I Shomu
1. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
2. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
3. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
4. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
5. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
6. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
7. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
8. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset and His Followers
24. Kronokrator: Heru (var. Heru, Lord of Busiris)
30. Kronokrator: Heru Who Receives Offerings; House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

II Shomu
6. Heru Inquires from Osiris-Onnophris
8. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset
9. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset
19. Appearance of Heru-sa-Aset
21. Kronokrator: Heru-sa-Aset
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

III Shomu
4. Conception of Heru-sa-Aset
10. Kronokrator: Heru
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

IV Shomu
As God of the Month: Horus as Heribakef, “Who is over His (Wesir’s) protection”, the Lord of the Great Circle of Powerful Flames.
13. Defending Heru-sa-Aset
14. Defending Heru-sa-Aset
23. Kronokrator: Heru-who-creates-marshlands
30. House of Ra, House of Wesir, House of Heru

Lunar Calendar Festivals
Days of the Lunar Month
8. Khonsu-Heru-sa-Aset Who Sees His Father
9. Heru Who Gives Rules
10. Heru In The Great Palace *
15. (full moon/tepy semdet) Heru-sa-Aset, Heru the Younger, ‘since He is rejuvenated like the full moon’

* I am choosing to read this as a reference to Shedet, which was known as the Great Palace, on top of any other meanings it might hold, since that is important to my practice.

II Akhet Full Moon
Feast of Heru

IV Peret New Moon (Pesdjentiu)
Birthday of Heru-sa-Aset

IV Peret Day After New Moon
Mystery of the Divine Birth of Heru

IV Peret Full Moon
Birth of Heru-sa-Aset

Leave a Reply

