It’s been a quiet month

I had a lot of plans for May in terms of spiritual retreat and ritual and other things, but the gods had other plans. Wesir basically told me to rest, so that’s what I did. The only ritual I’ve done this month is Quanyin practice.

But it was nice to just take a break from everything and take a moment to breathe and figure out what I need to do next. I didn’t do as much spiritual work as I’d planned, but I did some, and I’ve been pondering where to go next with my monastic stuff, and my witchcraft, including looking for local groups that might be willing to teach me. Hekate’s been the big push behind this, but so much of the reason for that is not something that’s ready to talk about just yet.

The Sobek Devotional opens for submissions in July, so I’ve been mentally preparing for that, too. I thought I might do the 30 days of devotion meme for Sobek through June to get my inspiration flowing, and to maybe inspire other people, too. I’ve been making notes on a 51 page article about the Book of the Faiyum, so this is the sort of effort I’m going to for this adorable god and His not-very-extensive collection of surviving myths that I need to collate for Day 4 omg. (If someone could publish an English translation of that book so I could read the whole thing, rather than just snippets, that would be amazing. But I doubt that will ever happen because Sobek doesn’t get a lot of research energy boooo.)

That said, even the snippets are beginning to make me re-evaluate what this practice is going to look like, and what’s important to preserve, so expect more ponderings on that front in the future, when I ramble on about how to build regional cultus based on sketchy information and my intuition. :D?

Anyway. That’s really all I wanted to say for now. I have some posts to write, and some research to finish, so look forward to a month of Sobek posts, and get your submissions for the Sobek devotional ready. If you want to chat about the devotional and any possible submissions, email sobekdevotionalATgmail.com and we can chat about it.

Leave a Reply

