30 Days of Sobek: Day 6 – Other Related Deities

This is possibly a bit shorter than I’d have liked, but it’ll do. I’m going to post tomorrow’s now as well, because from next week, my Wednesdays are gonna get busy, so I might as well get Tues and Wed done at the same time. Then that’s one less thing to worry about.

I might actually expand this post at a later date, when I have more brain space to research this with more depth. I really don’t feel like I’ve done this bit justice, but hopefully, it’ll give you some idea of the gods associated with Sobek that aren’t family.

Historical:
Heru: He shares a temple at Kom Ombo with Heru-Wer. In the Faiyum, He is called Sobek in Shedet, Heru who is in Shedet, and idenfitied with Heru-sa-Aset, and therefore with Kingship.

Ra: In the Faiyum, Sobek was syncretised with Ra as the Creator. In this form, Ra takes the shape of a crocodile, and enters the Lake to renew Himself at night.

Nit/Nut/Mehet Weret/Shedet/The White Cow: Sobek-Ra’s mother, as depicted in the Book of the Faiyum, which draws on the older Book of the Celestial Cow mythology. If I could read the entire text, I might be able to sort out whether these are all separate names for separate goddesses, or different names for the same goddess. I suspect the latter, but don’t quote me on that.

Wesir: His identification with Heru-sa-Aset brings in Wesir as Sobek’s father. This also comes through Sobek-Ra as well, as the image of Ra as a crocodile swimming through the Lake to be renewed shows the unioin of Ra and Wesir through the image of a crocodile with a mummy on its back.

Aset: Again, through identification with Heru-sa-Aset, and through Aset’s syncretisation with Renenutet. This makes it possible for Aset to be both Sobek’s mother, and consort.

Set: Mostly because in the Contendings, Set takes a form of a crocodile, and therefore all crocodiles are evil by association, and this is often the source of crocodiles or crocodile gods being misidentified as Sobek. Not all crocodiles are Sobek, but many of them are. And some of them are Maga.

UPG:
Sobek is Amun is Ra is Ptah is Wesir: This is something Djehuty told me seven years ago, and I’ve been pondering it ever since. It is, I think, based on historical associations, but I suspect there are modern reasons why I was told that. I’m still puzzling it out years later, and exploring those relationships and what they can tell me about Sobek.

3 comments on “30 Days of Sobek: Day 6 – Other Related Deities

  1. Hi, just a question. Any feelings about the relationship between Seth and Sobek given that Neith who is sometimes Sobek’s mother is also sometimes Seth’s wife?

    • Sashataakheru says:

      I can see the similarities in personalty types, but honestly, Set’s never been a big part of my practice, and never with Sobek, so I can’t really say. The only relationship between Set and Nit I have is that of protectors of the queer/lgbtqia+ dead. I don’t really get Them together in any other context.

Leave a Reply

