30 Days of Sobek: Day 27 – Worst Misconceptions about Sobek

Honestly, this question feels like a rewording of day 9, so I might just point you there. Though I think this phrasing makes more sense to me but idk.

I think the worst one is that He’s omg evil. He gets a lot of the Evil Crocodile God shit, particularly in popular media. No one can conceive of a crocodile god, particularly with Sobek’s temperament, being anything other than rampagingly violent, evil, and destructive. But they’re only seeing a fragment of His personality when they do that, and even Set isn’t 100% like this, either. But then no one seems to care enough about these gods to write them accurately, so I don’t expect it, either. It’d still be nice to see a more accurate portrayal one day. I’d like to see a version of Sobek that I recognise and resonate with, that feels like, yes, this is the god I know. But that might be wishful thinking.

That said, I hope these posts have at least given you a better idea of what Sobek’s like, if He’s not a god you know or worship. If there’s anything you want to know that isn’t covered with this list, feel free to ask and I’ll see what I can do. I want people to know more about Him, and what He’s like.

Leave a Reply

