Ohhai, I made you some Kemetic Household Rituals

When the gods inspire, the gods inspire. While they’re very simple rituals, that’s what I intended them to be. My style when I create rituals is to write them in such a way that they can be reduced to a bottle of water, a bowl, and some images you’ve printed from the Internet, so you don’t need a lot of kit or space to do them. And, honestly, that feels like the right sort of approach for household rituals.

I have four rituals done:

It’s not meant to be the be-all and end-all of household practices, more like a place to start, so that there’s something to build on. In particular, I feel like Bes and Taweret need … something for Themselves. But I don’t know what or how often. If anyone has any ideas, please share them.

And if you’re just here for the rituals, you can skip the cut and click the links above. Do let me know how you get on with them, I’d love to know how you end up using them.

For everyone else, have some rambling about gods and why I wrote the rituals the way I did, in case anyone wants to see my working out.

So I’ve always loved the House of Ra, House of Heru, House of Wesir name. There’s just something about it I love. So I’ve always been interested to some degree in having household rites to do. I wanted this to exist as a ritual, and not just as a festival name.

The basic ritual framework was one I wrote a week or so ago as a very stripped down, basic, Kemetic ritual outline for my working Ritual Book. Why write the same ritual twice for different goddesses, when I can throw down the framework once and throw a hymn or two elsewhere to save space? So yeah. I used that, since it’s simple, basic, and while based on the temple structure, is still informal enough to work for this purpose.

I like working with zep tepi when I write Kemetic rituals, to bring in that repetitive cycling of dawn, of the month, of the seasons, of the year changing. So that was my inspiration for the First Day of the Month, and the gods I chose for it. Nut gives birth to the sun, Aset as Aset-Sopdet heralds the annual flood, and Renenutet is connected to the flood as well through Her aspects of nourishing, and Her connections to Aset. It’s also mentioned in that ‘Hymn to Renenutet’ I can’t find a source for anywhere, so I have nfi of its provinence, except that it resonates with me.

I also wanted to mirror the last day of the month, but I didn’t want to use three gods, so I chose three goddesses instead, ones who have connections to Ra, Heru, and Wesir. That, to me, felt like a good structure to have.

The Sixth Day festival I actually wrote a long time ago, and I was sure I’d posted it here somewhere, but apparently not. It’s simple, and short, and you could incorporate it into a longer ritual, or just do it on its own. I also wanted to keep it simple because it’s an Ancestor festival, and if you’re just beginning to do Ancestor veneration as part of your Kemetic practices, I felt like keeping it short and simple was probably the best way to go. It’s two libations, and maybe some time to just sit with them, nothing more. That, to me, feels like the best place to start, since my own ancestor practice is … well. Non-existent at this point in time, with the exception of the Bowie and other Queer ancestors shrine. I don’t really tend to it regularly, though, except to remember to fill the cups with water.

For the Festival of the Half-Month, I was nudged by Khonsu, who wanted the ritual, and for balance, I also chose Bast as an Eye Goddess, and Djehuty, who not only won the moonlight from Khonsu, but is also a keeper of time and of Ma’at. These just felt like the right energies for the Half-Month. Lunar and solar energies coming together, that’s the point of the selection of Khonsu and Bast. But you could choose another Eye goddess other than Bast, though.

As for the Last Day of the Month, I wanted to make it feel like sunset, like evening, like the year coming to a close. So that reflected the choise of words I used and how I incorporated Ra, Heru, and Wesir into it. It’s also the only one where I think I might tweak some of the words, once I’ve performed it a few times. I’m not quite happy with the words, but I suspect I will only know if they’re right once I try the ritual out for the first few times.

So yeah. That’s where the rituals are at, and what inspired me to create them that way. Like I said above, I feel like Bes and Taweret need something too, but I don’t know what, and as I’ve never worked with Them and know very little about Their place in household practices, I’m not sure where to go with that. If anyone has something they already do for Bes and Taweret, or has any ideas of what might be good to add to this selection, I’d love to hear from you.

Anyway, I’ll leave this here, and get on with the fiction writing I was meant to spend the day doing, instead of creating household rituals. XD

2 comments on “Ohhai, I made you some Kemetic Household Rituals

  1. Jericah says:

    Love these rituals! I’m getting back into a spiritual practice after Real Life Shit kind of bulldozed it down, and I was wondering about Kemetic household rites and when to do them.

    Can the rituals be tweaked for personal household goods, or are they specifically for these gods?

    • Sashataakheru says:

      Thank you! You are more than welcome to adapt the rites and change the gods I used.

      The gods I used seemed like the most useful to me but I had no real guidance except my own intuition, because so little remains of the household rituals. So yes, tweak away and use them to make your own rituals that work for you.

      And feel free to share what you come up with. I’d love to see how you adapt them and make them work for you.

Leave a Reply

